A Marathon and Goals for April

Yesterday, I had one of the best double-digit runs, ever.  The weather started a little humid and mid-50s, but cleared up and the sun came out. I ran with the dog, Tara, as well as three other friends and two more dogs. We started on our usually long run route, but instead of doing an out-and-back as we usually do, we mixed it up and turned off at 5 miles to create a loop through town. It’s amazing how a few miles of new scenery can invigorate a long run. On my shorter runs I routinely switch directions and mix things up with new side streets, but on the longer runs I’ve been doing the same route for quite awhile so it made a huge difference to change the route so much.

I think I’ll try to come up with another couple of courses for double-digit runs over the next few months to keep things interesting. It is going to be even more important as I ramp up the mileage for…wait for it…marathon training!  I finally committed and registered for the Richmond Marathon on November 16 in Richmond, Virginia. I am so excited at the prospect of finally tackling 26.2 miles!  My friend, Caitlin, and my hubby are going to run it too, so I’ll have plenty of support in my training here in Kansas and my family in Virginia is already on board with being our support crew while we’re on the East coast.

With such a big race on the horizon, I would like to get back into the habit of setting regular goals throughout the year.  I only set one goal for running for the year and that was to run 1000 miles, which I am a little behind on reaching with my current monthly totals (197.95/1000).  Tomorrow is April 1st, so today seems apropos to start setting some  monthly goals.

Goals for April

1. Run 100 miles in the month. I’ve run just under 200 miles for the year so far, so 100 this month will put me back on track for an even effort in the rest of the year for reaching my 1000 miles goal.

2. Do at least 1 day of weight lifting per week. I would like to start one of the New Rules of Lifting programs again. I’m leaning toward New Rules of Lifting for Women because I’m already familiar with all the moves, don’t need any new equipment, and they’re fairly short routines for the first few months while I’m still in school. My plan is to start by going to the gym this Tuesday during my long lunch break.

3. Prepare 1 new recipe per week. I really enjoyed finding new foods to try and meal-planning during my paleo experiment, and would like to continue adding some fresh new ideas to the repertoire.

4. Do at least 30 minutes of yoga per week. My flexibility is abysmal and running keeps me too tight, so I need to invest more time into stretching and flexibility. I think incorporating yoga into my routine will be a great way to accomplish this.

5. Research the possibility of an early summer triathlon. I’d like to find something to fill the gap between my half marathon training and the beginning of my marathon training. If I find a race that is within an easy morning drive, register and organize my training plan.

Do you have any tips for a first time marathoner? Do you set goals for yourself throughout the year?

Yesterday’s Training:

10.01 mile run

Today’s Training:

Rest day

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Sara on April 1, 2013 - 8:05 am

    AWESOME Goals! My goal is to be able to run 6 miles by October without dying…did 2.5 Saturday and that about did me in. HOW do you do it?! 🙂

  2. #2 by Kristin on April 1, 2013 - 7:40 pm

    🙂 You are going to be awesome in your 10K. Don’t forget I’ve been running for a few (6?) years now! It’s all about consistency – I just read in Runner’s World that you start to lose your running adaptations after only 3 days taking off!

    • #3 by Sara on April 1, 2013 - 7:44 pm

      Thanks!! I ended up doing a 5k today, and felt good, felt strong. I think I’ll be OK! I need to be consistent, I like how I feel after a good run, just need to DO IT.

      • #4 by Kristin on April 1, 2013 - 7:58 pm

        NICE! I find it helpful to schedule my runs into my day – that way they’re non-negotiable.

  3. #5 by sheloveshealthyliving on April 2, 2013 - 12:07 pm

    Great goals! High but attainable! Make sure to keep us updated on your progress. Ha! I thought your 100 miles was crazy, then realized my weekly goal puts me at 80 for the month. Good luck!

    • #6 by Kristin on April 2, 2013 - 1:41 pm

      Thanks! So far, so good. 🙂 I’m planning on an update at the end of the month with a check-in on the goals.

Leave a Reply

