When It All Falls Apart

Since posting yesterday about my training plan, I’ve been thinking about the drawbacks of planning.

Something I’ve struggled to learn is to be flexible enough to deal with unexpected and necessary changes to “the plan.” Even though I know in my brain that going out for a 20 minute run is better than doing nothing, it’s hard for me to break out of that mental block that I have failed my plan to run 5 miles or do intervals or hill repeats. Inevitably, in the past, I have ended up doing nothing and juggling other days to try and fit the missed workout.

Flexibility has clearly never been my strong suit, but sometimes life just happens and there’s no reason I should view it as my failing when I don’t make every workout exactly as planned. Plans don’t need to be set in stone, but rather, should be a guide that can be adjusted to meet my needs.

What is most important is that I keep moving forward, not dwell on minor diversions, and make do with the time available.

(via Pinterest) Plans rarely perfectly align, might as well just run!

 

 

Today’s Training:

35 minutes yoga before class this morning

5.5 mile run in beautiful KS weather with a good friend

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by laurapatrice on March 27, 2013 - 11:26 pm

    I just checked out your training schedule and you are definitely a detailed planner. That’s not a bad skill to have at all! But I do agree with you about it being important to be flexible. I do tend to feel guilty if I miss a planned run, so I know how you feel about wanting to stick to your plan. A friend from college is running a marathon in May and has been writing about her challenges as she gets closer to the race. I found this article helpful: http://thepreppyrunner.wordpress.com/2013/03/24/becoming-one-with-the-run/
    All in all it seems like there are going to be setbacks and stress, and we have to forgive ourselves and be flexible. πŸ™‚

  2. #2 by Kristin on March 28, 2013 - 10:04 pm

    Thanks for the link! I’ll take a look. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

