The Sounds of the Weight Room

Being away so much over the past few weeks has really done a number on my nutrition. I have not been following my plan for calorie intake or macronutrient ratios. I also usually try to eat mostly “clean,” which I think to mean whole real foods, not processed junk. I’ve resorted to fast food and/or prepackaged foods while traveling, especially in the airports. Today marked day one of getting back to tracking my food keeping portion sizes down and eating “clean.” I’ve gained about 3 of the 6 pounds I had lost when I started watching my diet again in April. I’d like to lose those and a bit more to get back to my happy weight.

After work today I had a doctor’s appointment and then I went straight to the gym to lift. It was nice and early in the afternoon and the gym was pretty much empty. It was kind of weird because ALL the personal trainers were there having a meeting. They sat in a big circle in the back of the gym. I guess it’s not really weird…

My workout was Workout B of Stage 5 of NROLW. I started with the same warm-up as yesterday (squat to stand, lateral lunges, reverse lunge with twist and overhead reach, and inchworms). I then did barbell Romanian deadlift/bent-over row combo warm-up (with 6 reps @ 45 lbs (just the bar), 3 reps @ 65 lbs, and 1 rep @ 85 lbs) before beginning my work out.

A. Barbell Romanian deadlift/bent-over row – 3 sets of 4 reps with 120s rest @ 95 lbs

B1. Partial single-leg squat – 3 sets of 4 reps each leg with 120s rest @ 20 lbs DBs

B2. Wide-grip lat pulldown – 3 sets of 4 reps with 120s rest @ 90 lbs

C1. Back extension – 3 sets of 4 reps with 120s rest @ 35 lbs

C2. YTWL – 3 sets of 4 reps with 120s rest @ 12.5 lbs

D1. Swiss-ball crunch – 3 sets of 4 reps with 120s rest @ 10 lbs DB held overhead

D2. Hip flexion (reverse crunch) – 3 sets of 4 with 120s rest @BW

D3. Lateral felxion – 3 sets of 4 with 120s rest @ BW

E. Prone Cobra – 3 sets of 120s with 120s rest @ BW

I skipped the prone cobra today. It tends to really make my back sore (and not in a good, “I just worked my muscles really well” kind of way), so I don’t really care for it much.

One of the trainers lifted after their meeting and he was almost comically grunting with every pull. “Uhh!” “Ahh!” “Urghh!” He did some “motivational breathing” (that’s what I’m calling it anyhow) as he did his lifts, it sounded like, “tse tse tse.” I find all the grunting and noise-making to be quite amusing and entertaining. I really don’t have anything against it, I just don’t really think it makes that much of a difference that it’s necessary. I don’t do it, and pretty much lift silently. One guy recently was encouraging himself as he was pressing a load, “You got it, push! Do it!” Blah blah blah. I guess to each his own! If it works for you, it works for you. Not my style, though.

After finishing listening to the weight room symphony, I jumped on a treadmill to do some intervals. As planned, I did 1:00 minute at a walk to warm-up to it, 2:00 minutes at a 12 minute mile pace, then began the first interval for 1:00 minute at 6:40 mile pace. Rests were always at 12 minute mile pace. I did four total intervals at the 6:40 pace. I think next interval session I will either increase the number of intervals or recover at a faster pace. That should be on Friday, so I’ll keep you posted.

 

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

