Home Again, Home Again

It’s 7:32 AM and I am checking in from the Salt Lake City Airport.  After a week of skiing, I am exhausted and ready to get home and prepare for my last semester of classes before beginning veterinary school!!!  I did not set any goals for this week other than to relax and enjoy my skiing vacation.  I definitely did both of those things!  I also wanted to work on my skiing skills a bit, which I did although I think I peaked on Wednesday.

Yesterday, Curtis and I spent the morning skiing by ourselves and searching for any remnants of powder left from the snowstorm earlier this week.  At lunch, we met up with some of his grandfather’s friends and we learned that some more slopes had opened, so we headed to those after lunch.  First we visited Ballroom, and after a pretty long traverse, we found a good spot to drop in.  I had a blast skiing it!  After Ballroom, we heard the High T(raverse) was opened so we headed over there.  I opted not to join the group after a very serious talk from the ski patroler about the tough conditions on that part of the mountain.  Really, the conditions all over the mountain were quite tough this week because of the rain on Sunday, which caused a very hard icy layer under the snow on top. I’m the weakest skier of the bunch and by that time I was pretty tired and didn’t find it worth it to beat myself up trying to keep up.

All in all it was a great week of skiing and I can’t wait for next year!  I’m glad I had done some lifting (squats and lunges!) prior to the trip because I didn’t have any problems with soreness or feeling weak like I have in the past. I think I’d like to have a little more cardio under my belt for next year for the hiking and traversing, though!

  1. #1 by Abbie S on February 3, 2011 - 8:07 am

    I love the new look!

Leave a comment