Finally, a Break!

My applications are submitted. Two out of my four midterms are done. And two projects at work are wrapped up.  I finally have time to get back to my blog!

I’ve been trying to keep up with 8K training, but as you can tell, I’ve been just a little busy lately.  Last week I got out for a couple runs, including 4x800m intervals at a bit faster than 5K pace.  The only track we have to use is at our gym and is a very awkward 1/12 mile distance, so I decided I would map out a relatively flat route without too many road crossings outside.  As it turns out, what I thought was flat was really a gradual hill; the first and third intervals were downhill and the second and fourth back up the hill.  I finished the 800m intervals in 4:25, 4:27, 4:21, and 4:40ish and my biggest limiter was my lungs.  My legs actually felt pretty good, but with the colder air these days, my lungs have struggled a bit during runs.  I’m sure it’ll get better as I get used to the cooler weather though.

On Saturday, we went on a 10 mile hike in the George Washington National Forest with some of Curtis’s coworkers.  It was an absolutely gorgeous day and I felt fantastic.  There were some pretty good climbs, but nothing too bad.  It was a really nice “crosstraining” option for the weekend.  I was supposed to run 4 miles on Sunday, but ended up spending about 4 hours at the National Zoo for a school assignment and decided I had been on my feet long enough.  Plus, I had an exam on Monday morning, so I needed to study.  Monday was my off day, as usual.

Today, I was back out with a 3 mile run.  I still need to get some good reflective gear and lights for at night.  I’m thinking of getting a headlamp to attach to Tara’s collar and a reflective leash and collar for her.  For me, I’ll probably just get one of those reflective straps to wear over my clothes.

On tap for tomorrow is a 6 mile run, if I can find the time for it!

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

