Back to the Gym

After a short work day today, I headed to the gym to meet Curtis and his dad for a workout.  I got there first and actually did a lifting workout.  Woohoo!  I was feeling more than a little discouraged last time I lifted because all the weights that used to be light for me felt so heavy.  Tonight was much better though.  Since I’m easing into weight lifting, I kept the weights light for this first session just to get used to it again.  I did workout A from stage 1 of the NROLW:

A. Squat – 2 sets of 15 reps @ 65 lbs barbell with 60 s RI

B1. Push-up – 2 sets of 15 reps @ BW with 60 s RI

B2. Seated row – 2 sets of 15 reps @ plate 7/8 with 60 s RI (not sure of the weight of the plates, it was probably about 50 lbs?)

C1. Step-ups – 2 sets of 15 reps @ 15 lbs dumbbells with 60 s RI

C2. Prone jackknife – 2 sets of 8 reps @ BW with 60 s RI

After my lifting, I got on the treadmill for about 35 minutes and did alternating 5 minutes walking with 5 minutes running.  I haven’t been on the treadmill in months and it was incredibly boring.  I can’t believe I spent all last winter running on the treadmill to train for my half-marathon, because I know there’s no way I could do that now.  I think my only saving grace was that the Olympics were on for so much of the time last winter.

Tomorrow I’m going running with a friend after work.  We’re planning to run outside, so I’m hoping the temperature drops to a tolerable level by the time we go- it’s supposed to reach 91 degrees tomorrow!  I thought we were done with the summer heat, but apparently it’s not quite gone yet.

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Amy on September 23, 2010 - 11:39 am

    I know exactly what you mean about the treadmill! Good luck with the run tonight!

Leave a Reply

