Good Morning, Run!

Woohoo! I finally got my butt out of bed for a workout this morning!  My alarm went off at 6AM and I dragged myself out of bed at 6:05, got dressed, wasted some time fixing my Yanx laces, leashed the dog and headed out for a run.  We only did a short 35 minutes including a warm-up and cool down, but for the first time since Timberman, I felt fantastic.  The temperature was perfect- a bit chilly but I warmed up quickly once I started moving. My pace was probably pretty slow, and my heart rate was still spiking a bit more than normal.  My perceived exertion, however, was much closer to normal than it had been lately.

I had forgotten how awesome it is to do my workout in the morning and just have it done!  Not only that, but it is a great way to wake-up and get to a good start.  I know a lot of people think that’s weird, but really, I have enjoyed working out in the morning since I was on my high school swim team and we practiced in the mornings.  My run this morning reminded me how much nicer it is to exercise in the morning.

Ok. I’ll stop gushing.

I admit, I am a bit more tired tonight than I would be if I had slept till my normal time of 7 or 7:30, but I think that my body clock will reset to this earlier wakeup call if I continue to get moving in the mornings.  Tomorrow I’m aiming to get to the gym first thing to do a short lifting workout.  I’m going to try and get up a bit earlier at 5:30AM to account for travel to the gym.  I’ve already got all my stuff packed up and ready to go for the  morning.  Now I just need to get to bed.

, , ,

  1. #1 by Amy on September 16, 2010 - 9:21 am

    I’ve been trying to put my stuff out the night before, but it doesn’t always work. Case in point … this morning. Woke up at 4:50, put on clothes, decided my stomach hurt, got back into bed fully dressed in workout gear and slept until 7:30. Oops!

Leave a Reply

