Long Course Pool

After I got home from work today, I walked to our neighborhood pool for my swim, but it was closed for a private event.  Fortunately, our pool passes work for all the pools in our town (and tennis courts too), so I ran home, hopped in the car and drove to the next closest one.  I probably could have walked, but I had already wasted enough time walking to and from the first.  As it turns out, I’m really glad for the turn of events because the other pool is an Olympic sized pool!  That means 50 meter lengths!  I haven’t swum in 50 meter pool since college, so it was really a very nice treat only having to turn every 50.  I didn’t really have a plan for a workout other than to be in the water for 50 minutes, so I just started swimming hundreds.  I ended up doing the following:

Warm-up: 2 x 100m Freestyle, 2 x 100m Breaststroke

Core: 200m Free, 300m Free, 400m Free, 100m Breast, 300m Free, 200m Free

Cool-down: 100m Free, 100m Breast

Swimming in the longer pool helped me mentally prepare myself for the even longer distance for the tri.  I’ve never had trouble with open water swims, but my frame of mind is definitely a bit different than in a 25 meter or shorter pool.  I think I will be taking advantage of this pool more often!

After my swim I had a really horrendously bad run with the dog.  I had to cut it short because I was meeting Curtis and some of his coworkers for dinner, so I ended up being really lazy about it.  I still ran about 3 miles, but I should have done closer to 5 or 6.  I’m starting to worry about my running.  I haven’t done a good long run in awhile now.  I’m really hoping to get in some good miles next week.  I’ll be at the beach with Curtis’s family, but I’m planning to still do all my planned workouts.  We’re driving, so I’m bringing my bike with me.  I’ll probably bring my wetsuit too.  That way I can get some open water practice done.

Tomorrow is supposed to be a 2 hour bike ride.  My bike shorts and my tri shorts are in the laundry, so I need to remember to put them in the wash in the morning so they’ll be clean for my ride.

Have a good night!

  1. #1 by Amy on July 1, 2010 - 11:19 am

    Soooo jealous of your pool! Good luck on the bike ride! I hope you have a great time on vacation.

  2. #2 by Kevin Koskella on June 19, 2012 - 5:54 pm

    “Swimming in the longer pool helped me mentally prepare myself for the even longer distance for the tri.” Totally feel the same way about this. Night and day preparing in a long course pool vs. short course for an open water swim. Of course, good to get in that open water a few times before race day too! Cheers for your blog, hope you’re having a good season.

Leave a Reply

