Weekend training

I never made it for a swim after my last post and ended up having a very lazy Thursday.  Friday it was back to the training game with a 4 mile run.  It was under 90 degrees at 86F, so I decided to take Tara with me.  It was amazing how much easier it is to run at that temperature than the 95+ degree days we’ve been having!  It was quite refreshing.  We were pretty slow and had to make several stops for road crossings and water stops.  All in all, I was pretty pleased with the run.  I’m hoping for more cooler days, but I think that’s just wishful thinking!

Saturday was my long ride, and I did a 3 hour ride on the W&OD bike trail.  I think I did about 45 miles total.  It’s hard to say how far it is exactly because the area near my turnaround point is all detours off the trail and it’s difficult to map precisely.  I felt really good for the first half, but the second half was a little rough.  I think I need to work on going out slower so I don’t use up my legs before the end of the ride.  My speed doesn’t seem to be improving much beyond 15mph, but I really need to replace my computer so I have more accurate data.

Yesterday was a swim at the outdoor local pool.  It was just a “recovery” swim, so I didn’t have a workout planned.  When I got there I decided to do a full 1900 meter swim to find out if I could do the distance for the half-Ironman (1.2 miles = 1931m).  After a 100m warm-up, I started by long swim.  I don’t know how accurate my count of lengths was, but I’m pretty sure I was fairly close.  I felt great after the first 500 meters or so.  For some reason it always takes me a little while to get into a good rhythm.

Tonight is a running night.  It stormed earlier, so I’m hoping it has cooled off outside!

Have a great week!

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

