10 Weeks?

There are only 10 more training weeks before Timberman!  Now that I’m halfway through my 20 week training plan, I must admit, I’m not sold on this distance.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m still super-excited about doing my first 70.3.  It’s just that, as the training volume increases, I find it more and more difficult to make the time for training.  I don’t know how some of you do it!  I only work part-time right now, so where does all my time go??

I do spend a fair amount of time with my dog, because I do a lot of training with her and exercising her takes up a good chunk of my time also.  Working with her is a hobby for me that I enjoy immensely.  Right now we’re in two different training classes, an hour on Mondays for agility and an hour on Thursdays in a family dog “outdoor adventure” class.  So that’s some time right there, plus an hour or more every day exercising her with walks, runs, playdates or the dog park.  It adds up.  And the thing is, I want to do these things and I don’t want to have to give them up for hours spent training.

I guess what I’m getting at is that after Timberman, I think I’m going to go back to Sprint and Olympic distances for awhile.  As awesome as it would be to continue and do a full Ironman, I don’t think that now is the right time for me.  I’m not writing it off, and I still would love to do all 140.6 miles, but just not now.  I envy those of you who have figured out how to balance all this training with work and family life and other obligations, but I haven’t figured out a way that makes me happy yet.

Anyways, back on topic, despite my recent ponderings about this training thing, I am still training believe it or not!  I won’t recount the entire last week, but I did mostly follow my schedule.  I snuck in an extra rest day on Thursday because I had an extra dog for the day and it was just too much trying to get everything done.  I am super-excited about swimming this week because I finally got a membership to the local community pools, which are all outdoors.  I’ve done one swim outside so far and it was awesome.  The only bad part is that the hours on the closest one aren’t great- it’s only open 3pm-7pm on weekdays.  There’s a 50 meter pool also within walking distance that I’m hoping has slightly better hours.  I’d like to be able to go right after I get work at 1:30ish.  I’m going to try and check it out this week.

I attempted a long run on Saturday, but ended up walking a lot of it.  I got stung by a bee (or maybe a hornet?) about halfway through and it HURT!  I haven’t been stung in years and I was surprised by how sore it made me.  It got me on the back of my thigh, so my whole hamstring area went numb and sore.  I figured that I should walk in case I had a bad allergic reaction and to reduce the blood flow to my leg.  Not sure if these things really even made sense, but at the time it seemed like the right thing to do.  Fortunately, by the time I walked home, the initial swelling had gone down and the soreness had abated.  I’m left with a very itchy area that feels like a bug bite the size of my fist.  Not pleasant.

Sunday was my first 3 hour ride, and it ended up being only about 41 miles.  That’s slower than my long ride last week, but I think there was a bit of a headwind on the way out that was draining my energy.  I made a stop half-way to eat a snack and one other stop  to help a woman get her chain back on.

This week I don’t think I’ll get in all my planned workouts.  Curtis and I are going up to NYC for a long weekend for our anniversary.  I’ve told him that I’d like to run while we’re there, but I don’t know how I’d get in swimming or biking.  It looks like the hotel has a fitness room but no pool.  I don’t know if I’ll have time anyhow, we haven’t fully planned out what we’re going to do yet.  If anybody has any suggestions for must see/do, let me know!

  1. #1 by Amy on June 15, 2010 - 3:09 pm

    So bummed I’ll miss you while you’re here this weekend. I hope you have a great time! Definitely understand where you’re coming from about the distances. This elbow thing has made me rethink all my triathlon plans…

  2. #2 by Tom on June 21, 2010 - 10:11 am

    Keep up the great work, Kristin! If you miss a workout or two, that’s okay. You’ve put in the time and effort and you want to do this race, so you’ll finish strong. So much of a race like the half-ironman is mental. Keep having positive thoughts about doing the race and in 10 weeks on race day you’ll have an awesome day!

Leave a Reply

