Keep On Keeping On

This has been quite a week.  I’m trying to really make an effort to do all my training workouts and so far so good.  Granted, we’re only three days into the week (one of those being a rest day), but I feel good about my new-found resolve.  Yesterday I went to the gym after work and did NROLW Stage 6 workout A.  Essentially, I’m starting Stage 6 all over again since I took a hiatus.  I’m glad I restarted because I am SORE today.  I did negative chin-ups, underhand grip lat pulldowns (@90 lbs), split squats (@95 lbs), and push-ups.  It was a short workout, but quite challenging.  After I finished lifting I came home and set up my bike on the trainer for a 75 minute ride.  I really need to replace my bike computer.  If you’ve been following for awhile, you’ll know that it was stolen at my last tri last season (Nation’s Tri).  I haven’t replaced it yet, but I really need to so I can monitor my cadence and distance, especially for indoor rides.  I must admit, I do love the convenience of being able to ride right in my own house, even if it does get a bit boring riding on the trainer.

Today I had every intention of going to the gym or running before work, but of course that didn’t happen.  I ended up not going until later this evening because  spent most of the day at my parents’ house.  My mom had surgery on Monday and is recovering well, but I went over to help out during the day in case she needed anything.  I went to the gym after I left and ran on the treadmill for 40 minutes.  I slacked on the treadmill and jogged pretty slowly.  I’m pretty sore from lifting yesterday and none of my limbs wanted to work right.  My arms are especially stiff.  After my slow run, I went to the locker room to shower and prepare for a swim.  I did a swimplan workout, which I actually shortened to 2000 yards, which I finished in 45 minutes.  I did 4x 100 freestyle with 15 seconds rest, followed by 6 sets of 50 yards long dog drill and 50 yards single arm drill with 10 seconds rest after each 50.  The core part of the workout was supposed to be 16x 100 freestyle, which I actually cut into 8x 100 freestyle with 15 seconds rest and used fins for the first 400 yards.  I finished up with a cooldown of 2x 50 freestyle and 2x 50 backstroke.  Those drills took a long time to complete.

Tomorrow is another lifting and biking day.  I’d like to ride outside, but the forecast is calling for storms and ridiculously hot temps (90+), so I may end up on the trainer.

  1. #1 by Amy on May 27, 2010 - 10:07 am

    Nice workouts!! Hope your mom is okay.

Leave a Reply

