13+ miles

Whew! It’s hot outside.  It was about 78 F today at the hottest, and probably felt a bit hotter in the sun.  The way things worked out, I was of course running my long run in the heat of the day, between the hours of 10:00AM and 1:00PM.  Go figure.  Anyways, if you’ve been following along on my very sparse blog posts, you may have realized that I’ve gotten a bit off-schedule with my training plan.  I’m two weeks behind (soon to be three) on NROLW and about the same on my running training.  With skiing, I haven’t made it out for a long run in several weeks.  So, today I planned to start in on 12 miles, doing 3 loops of four miles.  Unfortunately, during the first loop, I lost track of where I was going and ended up doing something strange.  It turns out the weird loop I did was just about 4 miles also, but decided to go with a tried and true 5 mile loop for my second loop anyhow.  The third loop I finally managed to do what I intended to the first time around.  Needless to say, my mileage was a bit off, but it turns out that I did a bit over 13 miles total today.  That does include quite a bit of walking during the last 4 miles.  As I mentioned, it was pretty warm today!  My body is just not used to the heat anymore, so I had to take quite a few walking breaks to keep from overheating badly.

I’m now exhausted from the day and have a bit of sunburn, which is making me even more tired, so I’m heading to sleep.  Have a great week!

  1. #1 by Amy on March 23, 2010 - 1:38 pm

    Nice run! Guess you don’t have to be worried about doing 13.1 at the race! We’re back to cooler weather again.

Leave a Reply

