Busy bee

I’m here, alive and well!  This month is just flying by, I’m not sure where the time has gone.  I have been super-busy with school, work, and life outside of training.  I have lost track of my workouts over the last two weeks and my eating habits have been terrible, add that to my lack of blogging, and I may be throwing all of my March goals out the window.  I’m a bit off-track with my half-marathon training, but I’m hoping there will be no more interruptions between now and the race.  I went skiing in West Virginia this past weekend and the weekend before, so I skipped my long runs in favor of non-stop skiing all weekend long.  Both weekends had pretty good conditions for spring skiing, even though it rained a bit on Saturday and was foggy on Sunday.  I also got to try out a new pair of skis this weekend and they were AWESOME!  I really need new ski boots, mine are about 12 years old and very worn out.  I am hoping to get a pair for next season.  Anyways enough about that.

I’m not going to go back through all my workouts over the past two weeks, because, frankly, I didn’t write them down and I can’t remember what I did.  I took a nice 5 mile run with Tara this afternoon.  It turned out to be a gorgeous day and about 60 F.  I found a 5 mile route on the local running club’s website and hit the road.  I forgot to start my watch at the beginning of the run, so I am missing some time, but here are my heart rate stats:

Duration – 48:21

Maximum Heart Rate – 186

Average Heart Rate – 169

Calories – 524

I didn’t feel fantastic, but I didn’t feel terrible either.  My right ankle felt a little tweaky, and I’m not sure if it was new pain or possibly something I hadn’t noticed from skiing over the weekend.  It never got beyond the point of a dull ache, so I didn’t think it was necessary to stop and it doesn’t hurt now, so I don’t think it’s anything to worry about.  I also managed to start a nice little blister on my left instep, but that’ll be long gone before the race.  I’m really getting excited to run the half-marathon next month.

  1. #1 by Amy on March 17, 2010 - 8:27 pm

    I think I’d be tempted to change running for skiing too. And I don’t even know how to ski! Hope your ankle is okay!

Leave a Reply

