10 MILES!

My first double-digit run done!  Woohoo!  I did the same warm-up as yesterday- half a mile at 4.0 mph speed on the treadmill, then cranked it up to 6.0 mph for the first 5 miles of my run.  Unfortunately, I did have to stop once after 3.5 miles to run to the bathroom, but I think it still counts for a 10 miler!  After I finished the first 5 miles, I turned the speed down to 5.5 for 2.5 miles and then 5.0 for the last 2.5 miles.  I must admit, my legs and feet were nice and sore after that!

The hardest thing about running 10 miles for the first time was the mental toughness needed.  There’s just something about running 10 miles that is harder than 8 or 9.  It was helpful that I was able to watch the Olympics during my run.  Not only did it keep my mind off the amounts and time going by, but it kept me from getting overwhelmingly bored on the treadmill.  Normally, I don’t have a problem with boredom while running, but lately it’s been getting to me.  I can’t wait till spring to be able to run outside again! (<- common theme lately!).

  1. #1 by tummymustgo on February 16, 2010 - 9:01 am

    cool well done, I know I am having the same mental issues with running , so each time I am running I am trying to put myself into the mind set of 5 k or 10 K runs, But it still worries me stepping up to olympic distance and finishing on a 10k after everything else

    it just seems so far

    Good luck keep it up I read all post, makes me wish I put more into my blog,

    http://tummymustgo.wordpress.com/

  2. #2 by Amy on February 16, 2010 - 4:16 pm

    CONGRATS!! It’s been snowing all day here, so I know what you mean about wanting spring to get here!

Leave a Reply

