Stuck on the Treadmill

When is this crazy weather going to end?  I don’t think the mid-Atlantic has ever seen this much snow in one year before!  Now that we’ve gotten past the two storms last week, forecasters are calling for more snow on Monday.  Granted, it’s not going to be nearly as much.  I’ve heard forecasters calling for 2-4 inches and 6 inches, so we’ll see what happens.  I did pretty well getting my workouts in last week, despite the snow on the ground.  After being stuck in the house all day Wednesday and taking an easy day on the trainer, I did manage to make it to the gym on Thursday.  The plan called for 6 miles including 4 x 2:00 aerobic intervals plus 6 gentle pickups.  And believe it or not, I actually completed the workout as written!  Including my warm-up and cool-down and the walking rests for the pickups, I did a total of 7.63 miles in 90 minutes (11:47 pace including the walking).  I wore my heart rate monitor chest strap, but forgot my watch, so I don’t have anything other than average heart rate of 140 bpm, which I think is wrong.  There were a few times when my heart rate seemed quite off.

Friday was a true day off, as planned.  Today, I had a 5-6 miler on the schedule, so Curtis and I headed to the gym after a lazy morning.  I hopped on a treadmill while he went off for a swim.  I’ve been realizing lately how important a good warm-up is to the success of my run.  Often I’ll be in a hurry to get the miles in and be more likely to just hop on and start running at a slow pace (relative).  This doesn’t really lend itself to strong runs though, and I nearly always end up feeling winded early on and being unable to sustain the pace I’d like to (10-minute miles or faster).  Today, I did a half mile warm up of a quick walk (4.0 mph), which seemed to really do the trick.  I managed to run 3 miles at 10 minute mile pace (6.0 mph) and then turned it up to 6.2 mph and 6.5 mph for the 4th and 5th miles.  I felt fantastic!  Heart rate stats (running only, no warm-up or cool-down):

Duration: 48:47 (9:45 pace)

Average Heart Rate: 156

Maximum Heart Rate: 192

Calories: 466

I’m really excited for my 10 miler tomorrow (except the treadmill part)!  I would love to knock it out at a 10 minute mile pace and finish in under 2 hours, but I really should just worry about completing the miles.  I must admit, going into it with a fantastic run today under my belt has done great things for my motivation.  I’ve been feeling really blah about running lately being stuck on the treadmill.  I can’t wait for the snow to melt so I can get back on the trails!  Right now, they’re almost clear enough to run – my town is fantastic about plowing all the trails (usually before the roads even get done!), but the have just enough ice to make me nervous. Look out for an update on my first double-digit run tomorrow!

,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

