Happy New Year!

I am starting of the new year and new decade with rest day!  It is very fitting as my training this year is definitely going to require adequate rest days.  In the past, I’ve tried to “make up” workouts that I have missed due to various life occurrences, but I think a better approach is to just take things day by day and stick to the plan.  I don’t want to try and fit in extra workouts.  Missing workouts is not the end of the world, and I need to remember that and that there is usually a reason.  This means that if I do other physical activities on any given day, I shouldn’t feel guilty about missing my prescribed workouts.  Hiking and skiing and things like that are fantastic cross training that will give me a break from my training plan but not be detrimental to my fitness.

Yesterday was another run day.  I did 5+ miles on the treadmill, including 4 aerobic intervals and 6 gentle pickups.  I think the pickups were actually supposed to be after completing 5-6 miles, but I was running short on time so I included them as part of the mileage.

We went to a NYE party in DC last night, and I needed to shower and eat dinner before we headed into the city.  It was nice to see friends from college who we went with, but to be honest, the party was quite underwhelming.  It was very poorly organized and quite a let-down from what we had expected.  We will not be patronizing it again next year.  We’re usually quite the homebodies on New Year’s, but this year we decided to venture out and check out the DC scene.  We’ll see what happens next year, but I’m sure we will not be wanting a repeat of this year!

Hope you all had a wonderful new year’s day and got to spend time with loved ones over this holiday season!  Best wishes for the year ahead!

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

