It’s Official!

I am registered for Ironman 70.3 Timberman 2010.  And I’m totally freaking out!  There’s no way out now (barring major injury or illness) because the registration fee is quite the investment.  Quite a step up from $50 sprint races, but understandable given the enormous undertaking to put on such an event.  I have been reading various race reports from years past and it sounds like I’m going to really need to put in some good hilly miles on the bike.  With my early season focus on running, I am hoping to have a fantastic base to be able to back off the run and switch to focusing on cycling in April.  My Christmas present of a brand new Cycleops trainer (thanks Curtis!) is going to really help me to put more time in the saddle.  I am just going to have to figure out a way to set it up to simulate hills.  Prop my front wheel off floor-level perhaps?  I’m afraid I’ll tip over, but something must be done.  The trail I do most of my training on is not very hilly, so I’m also going to have to find somewhere to ride with some decent climbs.

I think I’ll be ok on the run with my early season base, and most of my running routes are fairly hilly.  My only concern is that my knee and feet hold up.  I’m going to be drastically increasing mileage over past running training, and I don’t know how my legs will hold up.  I definitely need to get fitted for new shoes asap.  My current Asics are just not holding up for runs over 2 miles anymore.  My arches feel like they are going to break in half following longer runs.  I’m wondering if there is a better shoe for my feet out there, or if these shoes are just too worn.  I have no idea how many miles they have on them, and I can’t remember when I bought them, which is probably a bad sign.  For the next year, I’m going to use the trackers (see my sidebar!) to show my cummulative distances in each sport.  This will help me keep track of my run miles to make sure I don’t overdo it on the next pair of shoes.  I am VERY curious to see what my totals end up at the end of the year, and see how many pairs of running shoes I go through in the process! 😉  I think I’m going to take my Christmas money up to the local running store and have them do a gait analysis and all that jazz.  I also need to pick up some new socks and some sort of hydration system.

The swim shouldn’t be a problem, unless conditions are bad.  I’m hoping I get a bit more open water swim time this year than I have in the past.  I will definitely have some time in the ocean at the outer banks this summer, but I want to fit in some lake time as well.  Regardless, I already know I can complete the distance, so I’m not too worried about training for the swim leg.

I think the biggest new thing that I’m going to need to focus on during training for the HIM is nutrition.  I haven’t put too much thought or effort into for short course distances, as it is not crucial for the amount of time they take.  At the HIM distance, nutrition and hydration are going to be key on the day of the race, so I am going to have to figure out what works for me and start practicing with the items that will be available on race day.  I really liked the Clif shot blocks during Nations, so I’m going to start practicing with those as well.
Next step is to figure out where to stay and how I’m going to get up there.  I think it’s about an 8-9 hour drive from home, and I can’t decide whether that’s preferable or the relatively short flight and shipping my bike option.  I’ve probably got a little time, though I imagine things fill up fairly early for the weekend.

My training today went ok, I did stage 3 workout A from NROLW.  That body weight matrix is tough!  When I got to the gym, there were probably 20ish people (all men) in the free weights area.  It is a big area, but I don’t think I’ve ever tried to lift when it was that packed.  It was a bit of testosterone overload.  Unfortunately, the gym does not have 22.5 lbs dumbbells (at least not available), and the only thing close that I could find were 20 lbs.  So, I ended up going a little lighter than I intended today.  I would have liked to try the 25 lbs dumbbells, but unfortunately they were taken.  I wish more women would learn that there gym time would be much better spent lifting (and lifting HEAVY), because it just kills me that I was there for an hour and did not see a single other woman lifting.  Not one.  In fact, the only women that even got remotely close to the free weights were trainers.  Working out at mom’s house has made me forget how testosterone-heavy the gym weight area can be.  Here’s the workout:

A. One-armed dumbbell snatch – 3 sets of 6 @ 20 lbs DBs with 105s RI
B1. Dumbbell single-leg Romanian deadlift – 3 sets of 6 @ 20 lbs DBs with 105s RI
B2. Barbell bent-over row – 3 sets of 6 @ 75 lbs BB (first set was 85 lbs) with 105s RI
C1. Dumbbell single-arm overhead squat – 3 sets of 6 @ 12 & 20 lbs DBs with 105s RI
C2. Dumbbell incline bench press – 3 sets of 6 @ 20 lbs DBs with 105s RI
D1. Plank – 3 sets of 90s @ BW with 105S RI (2nd set was only 60 s)
D2. Reverse wood chop – 3 sets of 6 @ 25 lbs DBs with 105s RI
Body weight matrix – 2 x [24 squats, 12 lunges (each leg), 12 lunge jumps (each leg), 24 squat jumps] with RI 2x amount of time taken on first set

Heart rate stats:
Duration – 1:07:05
Average Heart Rate – 147
Max Heart Rate – 190
Calories – 562

Tomorrow is a running day.  The weather is supposed to be terrible (snowy and rainy), so I think I’m going to be stuck on the treadmill again.

  1. #1 by Amy on December 31, 2009 - 10:42 am

    WHOOOOO HOOOO!!!! I’m so excited that you’ve signed up! I’ll e-mail you some other details…

  2. #2 by ptg1002 on January 2, 2010 - 11:35 pm

    Wow – you are amazing to do a half-ironman!!! You are goin to rock it, girl!

    As for the arch problem – I would do two things: one, get new shoes. Two: get fitted for different shoes. To me it sounds like you don’t have a nearly supportive enough shoe and the problems you’re having are ones I see very commonly with the wrong shoe wear with athletes.

    • #3 by Kristin on January 3, 2010 - 12:59 am

      Ginesa- Thanks for chiming in on the arch problem. I was hoping you would see that and comment. You’ve validated my thoughts on the issue…I’ve been wondering if the model shoe was really appropriate for me for awhile now. Sounds like it’s definitely time for another fitting!

Leave a Reply

