Oops…

I really need to end these “I’m a bad blogger” posts!  Clearly, I’ve lapsed in my blogging and unfortunately, I’ve let training go by the wayside as well.  With the holidays and wintry weather, I have found it difficult to find the time to do either.  This week (today!) is the beginning of a new season for me though.  I’ve updated my “Training Plan” page with my tentative training schedule for the next eight months, including all the races I am considering.  The only definite (already registered) race is the Charlottesville Half-Marathon, but I’m hoping to register for my other “A” race, the Ironman 70.3 Timberman, later this week.

I’ve got a run planned for tomorrow after work.  My plan is to meet Curtis at the gym after he gets off, so I have time to get home and walk the dog and such beforehand.  I should really take her running, but it gets dark early and even on walks, I am constantly finding ice patches that almost knock me off my feet and I know it would be even worse running!  So, the treadmill it is!

Tonight I had a weight-lifting session with my mom.  We did Stage 3 workout B from NROLW.  Here it is:

A. Barbell Romanian deadlift / bent-over row – 3 sets of 6 @ 85 lbs barbell with 105 s RI

B1. Partial single-leg squat – 3 sets of 6 @ BW with 105 s RI

B2. Wide-grip lat pulldown – 3 sets of 6 @ 70 lbs with 105 s RI

C1. Prone cobra (home gym substitute for back extension) – 3 sets of 90 seconds @ BW with 105 s RI

C2. YTWL – 3 sets of 6 @ 8 lbs dumbbells with 105 s RI

D1. Swiss-ball crunch (long-arm variation) – 3 sets of 6 @ 10 lbs with 105 s RI

D2. Hip Flexion (incline reverse crunch) – 3 sets of 6 @ BW with 105 s RI

D3. Lateral flexion (Swiss-ball side crunch) – 3 sets of 6 @ BW with 105 s RI

Heart Rate Stats:

Duration – 1:00:55

Max Heart Rate – 163

Average Heart Rate – 116

Calories – 325

I increased weight for the Barbell Romanian deadlift / bent-over row combo and WOW, 85 lbs was HEAVY.  I managed to finish it, but I think I’ll stay here for the next B workout.  I think there is only one more week of this stage, so only one more time doing this workout.  I’m excited to try something new.  I’ve only been managing one day a week of weights lately, but I’m hoping to add the second day starting this Wednesday.

I’m going to try and be better about blogging in the new year.  Sometimes I just really find it hard to find the time to write a coherent and half-way interesting post.  I also want to put some more time and effort into commenting on other blogs.  I have a number in my Google Reader, which I read religiously, but I rarely comment anymore.  I think partially this is due to the fact that I read on my phone a lot of the time and it’s rather tedious for me to write comments on it.  Does anyone have any tips for how to find time for blogging activities?  How do you balance reading/commenting and writing?

  1. #1 by Amy on December 30, 2009 - 3:23 pm

    OMG!!!! Despite me being a bad blogger, bad blog reader and getting sick this past week, I cannot describe how excited I’ll be if you really do sign up for Timberman!! Yahoo!!!

Leave a Reply

