As promised…

The NROLW stage 3 A workout is hard.  It’s also long, taking about an hour to finish.  And to add insult to injury, at the end of the lifting portion, you have to do the killer body-weight matrix!  Anyways, enough whining…here’s the workout.

A. One-armed dumbbell snatch – 3 sets of 6 @ 20 lbs dumbbells with 105 s RI

B1. Dumbbell single-leg Romanian deadlift – 3 sets of 6 @ 20 lbs dumbbells with 105 s RI

B2. Barbell bent-over row – 3 sets of 6 @ 65 lbs barbell with 105 s RI

C1. Dumbbell single-arm overhead squat – 3 sets of 6 @ 10 and 22.5 lbs dumbbells with 105 s RI

C2. Dumbbell incline bench press – 3 sets of 6 @ 22.5 lbs dumbbells with 105 s RI

D1. Plank – 3 sets of 90 s @ BW with 105 s RI

D2. Reverse wood chop (home variation) – 3 sets of 6 @ 22.5 lbs dumbbells with 105 s RI

Body-weight matrix – 2 sets with time x 2 RI

24 squats

12 lunges (each leg)

12 lunge jumps (each leg)

24 squat jumps

Whew!  It’s making me tired just writing it out!  My shoulders, quads and hammies are a bit sore today, probably as a result of the incline bench presses and the BW matrix, respectively.  I should be able to increase weight on all the A and B exercises, so next time I’m going to go for 22.5 lbs dumbbells for A and B1, and at least 75 lbs barbell for the bent-over row.  Since it’s only 6 reps per set, I think I should be able to push harder.  Maybe I should even go for the 25 lbs DBs for the incline bench press.  That’s kind of scary.  I don’t know what my limiter is there, but for some reason, I have a really hard time with the shoulder press-type exercises.  I think I’m very slowly making progress, but it’s difficult for me to gauge how much my strength has improved.  Tomorrow’s workout should be quite a bit “easier”, as a lot of it is body-weight exercises.

Stats:

Duration -1:02:15

Calories – 439

Max Heart Rate – 190

Average Heart Rate – 133

I should mention that both Stage 2 and Stage 3 B workouts call for HIIT (high intensity interval training) after completing the weight portion, but I haven’t been doing this.  In part, during Stage 2, I was avoiding impact exercise while my knee was giving me problems.  And now, since I’m doing a running program that does include some interval training (though not as intense), I haven’t felt the need to do the extra HIIT.

Instead, I’m running four days a week (or trying to!).  Today was the first workout of week three of the half-marathon training plan that I am following.  It called for 2 miles run followed by aerobic intervals – 2 x [1:00, 1:30, 2:00], then another 2 miles run.  I took Tara out, and both of us were a tad sluggish, so we did not do the workout as written.  We did our initial two miles (with a few stops for Tara), then did the aerobic intervals, with 1:00 recovery walks in between.  The intervals lasted till about the 3 mile mark, so I ran to the 4 mile mark then from 4 miles back to home, we walked.  We did a total of 5.2 miles running and walking.  Here are the stats.

Duration -1:13:21

Calories – 647

Max Heart Rate – 195

Average Heart Rate – 154

Tomorrow’s another lifting day.  Perhaps I’ll do a little HIIT on a stationary bike for something different. 🙂

  1. #1 by Amy on December 2, 2009 - 8:11 am

    Nice workout! I have to start my half-marathon program soon, but it’s pretty short (only 9 weeks!).

Leave a Reply

