Catching Up…

I’ve been lax in posting my workouts since last week!  I’m doing much better at actually doing them though, so that’s progress.  First, a challenge update- I exceeded my 320 minutes of exercise for the last week, but did not reach 80 ounces of water each day over the weekend.  I didn’t think drinking 80 ounces would be as hard as it is!  At work I have no problem, I just fill my 32 ounce Nalgene and down 3 of them throughout the day.  When I’m out and about and doing errands or getting things done around the house on the weekend, it’s hard to remember to stop and drink water.  This week is going to be especially hard for this because with the Thanksgiving holiday, I have four days not at work.  I’m going to make an extra effort to keep my water bottle with me and drink throughout the day.

I think I left off my workouts with last Monday’s lifting and Tuesday’s run.  After I posted, I realized that my run workout was actually supposed to have another 2 miles after the intervals, but oh well! at least I’m running again.  Wednesday was the B workout from stage 3 of NROL4W:

A. Barbell Romanian deadlift / bent-over row – 3 sets of 6 @ 65 lbs barbell with 105 s RI

B1. Partial single-leg squat – 3 sets of 6 @ BW with 105 s RI

B2. Wide-grip lat pulldown – 3 sets of 6 @ 70 lbs with 105 s RI

C1. Prone cobra (home gym substitute for back extension) – 3 sets of 90 seconds @ BW with 105 s RI

C2. YTWL – 3 sets of 6 @ 5 lbs dumbbells with 105 s RI

D1. Swiss-ball crunch (long-arm variation) – 3 sets of 6 @ BW with 105 s RI

D2. Hip Flexion (incline reverse crunch) – 3 sets of 6 @ BW with 105 s RI

D3. Lateral flexion (Swiss-ball side crunch) – 3 sets of 6 @ BW with 105 s RI

This was an interesting workout.  There should have been an “E”, the Prone Cobra, but because I did it in place of the back extension,  I skipped it.  I’ll need to increase from 65 to 75+ for the Barbell Romanian deadlift / bent over row as 65 pounds was much too light.

Stats:

Duration – 1:22:19

Calories – 488

Max heart rate – 159

Average heart rate – 121

On Thursday, I gave myself a rest day.  It was raining and the forecast for Friday was sun!  So I decided to swap my Friday rest for Thursday.  I’m really glad I did because Friday was beautiful!  Even though I had to run in the dark, it wasn’t too cold or miserable.  Plus, I got the bonus that Curtis came with me!  We did a 4 mile run followed by 4 gentle pickups for a total of ~5.2 miles.  We walked after the four miles and between each of the pick-ups and at the end to cool-down.  I actually felt really good during the run.  I settled into a pace easily and I probably could have continued passed the initial four miles easily.

Stats:

Duration – 1:14:28

Calories – 741

Max heart rate – 196

Average heart rate – 159

Saturday, I forfeited my workout in favor of getting my house clean.  It’s not quite up to snuff, but I’m getting there.  I had really let things go over the past few months and need to get organized and clean.  It felt good to get things done around the house and I don’t mind one bit that I missed a workout for it.

On Sunday (yesterday) morning, Curtis and I ran about 3 miles.  I didn’t feel nearly as good as I had on Friday, and I’m not entirely sure why.  Maybe just an off day?  It was a slow run, but we did make a few stops for Tara and road crossings.

Stats:

Duration – 42:49

Calories – 409

Max heart rate – 187

Average heart rate – 156

After lunch, we took Tara to meet up with a couple people who also have German Shepherd Dogs to let the three dogs play together.  It was a blast!  We took a short hike in the woods to a secluded wooded area and just let the pups run.  Tara is super-fast, and the other two (who are still puppies) were having a grand time trying to catch up to her while she was bounding around the woods like a deer.  I wish I had her enthusiasm and speed!  She certainly shows me up!  When we brought her home last night, she passed out and hardly wanted to move again till this morning.

Today is a scheduled rest day for me.  Mom and I are taking off weights this week.  We do take off completely every so often to get some extra recovery time and since we’ve started this new stage and it’s Thanksgiving this week, we thought it would be a good opportunity.  I’ll be back to the weights next week.  Tomorrow is another 2 mile run plus 5 aerobic intervals and another 2 miles.  There’s only a 20% chance of rain for tomorrow evening, so hopefully I’ll get to run outside.  Otherwise, I may just have to bite the bullet and head to the gym.  I’m not a huge fan of running in the dark, but it’s not so bad having Tara with me.  I need to get her a light up collar and reflective leash so that we can be a bit safer out at night.

  1. #1 by parismtnstriding on November 24, 2009 - 10:12 pm

    Way to go on the workouts. Why is hydration easier at work than on the weekend? If you figure out how to keep it up Sat and Sun let me know.

Leave a Reply

