NROL4W and a RUN

Yesterday, I started stage 3 of NROL4W.  Stage 2 went by so much faster than Stage 1, it was much better.  I did not get completely bored with the exercises in this stage, so it was much more stimulating.  I left my workout log in the car, so I’ll have to update with the actual exercises and weights next time I blog.  For the most part, I felt like a lot of my weights were too light.  These were all new exercises for me, so I was going easy to try and figure out what I should be lifting.  One thing that was not easy, though, was the body weight matrix.  It’s 24 squats, 24 lunges (12 each leg), 24 lunge jumps (12 each leg), and 24 squat jumps.  Times two.  At the end of the workout.  It was tough.  I was really worried that my legs would be super-sore today, but surprisingly they were not.  I had some slight stiffness, but no where near the pain I had last night!  I’m excited to do another new workout tomorrow.
Heart rate stats:

Duration – 1:31:50

Calories – 572

Max Heart Rate – 182

Average Heart Rate – 127

I took Tara for a run after work tonight.  We ran about 3 miles and walked an additional mile or so.  I also included a few intervals at a faster, but not anaerobic pace.  I’ve decided that I really need to run on a plan, so I’ve decided to do the half-marathon training plan in Runner’s World for the next 9 weeks.  Tonight was supposed to be a 2 mile run with 5-7 aerobic intervals of 1 minute each.  It was dark and difficult to see my watch to check the time, so I just counted/guesstimated the time.  I can’t believe how good I felt again tonight.  I’ve really expected to struggle a lot with my endurance after taking so much time off of running consistently, but my base must have been better than I thought because I’ve not had much trouble at all and really am holding myself back.  I’m starting to get excited about next season!

Stats:

Duration – 1:12:10

Calories – 567

Max Heart Rate – 197

Average Heart Rate – 144
My challenges have gone well so far this week – I’ve had more than 80 ounces of water yesterday and today and am well on my way with exercise minutes, having already finished more than half of my workout minutes for the week. 🙂

Update – my NROL4W workout…

Stage 3 workout A:

A. One-armed dumbbell snatch – 3 sets of 6 @ 20 lbs DBs

B1. Dumbbell Single-leg Romanian deadlift – 3 sets of 6 @ 10 lbs DBs

B2. Barbell bent-over row – 3 sets of 6 @ 45 lbs Barbell

C1. Dumbbell single-arm overhead squat- 3 sets of 6 @ 5 and 10 lbs DBs

C2. Dumbbell incline bench press – 3 sets of 6 @ 22.5 lbs DBs

D1. Plank – 3 sets of 90 seconds

D2. Reverse wood chop (modified) – 3 sets of 6 @ 20 lbs DB

Body-weight matrix – 2 sets

24 squats

12 lunges (each leg)

12 lunge jumps (each leg)

24 squat jumps

 

B1, B2, and C1 were all much too light and need to be increased in my next workout.

  1. #1 by Amy on November 18, 2009 - 10:36 am

    Nice Workout! Congrats on keeping up with them. I’ll be starting a half marathon plan soon myself …eek!!

  2. #2 by ptg1002 on November 19, 2009 - 11:34 pm

    Great job!!! I’m on stage one and just…well…slightly falling behind. Oh well!

Leave a Reply

