Thoughts on NROL4W

PTG asked me yesterday in the comments whether I liked New Rules of Lifting For Women, and I almost said “yes!” enthusiastically and without hesitation, but then I stopped to think about it.  I love lifting, and I really do believe that lifting heavy is the way to do it as the book advocates.  I also really enjoyed reading the book, and while I don’t necessarily subscribe to every detail, the authors make some very good and valid points.   I must admit, though, that the first stage of program in NROL4W was incredibly boring.  There is an “A” workout and “B” workout in stage 1 and you repeat each workout 8 times.  Since I did only 2 workouts per week, that meant 8 weeks of the same two workouts.  Ugh!  It may be a good introduction for brand new lifters, but as I had been lifting for several months prior to starting the workout, I was already familiar with all but one (prone jackknife) of the moves and had a good handle on the weights that I should be lifting.  I do think that for beginners, it is a nice and slow introduction to the equipment and gives you time to play around with weights to figure out how heavy is heavy enough.  But as I said, I didn’t really need all that and already had a good base to get started.

Now that I have moved on to stage 2, I am starting to enjoy it more and find it interesting again.  There were a number of moves in both A and B workouts that I had never done before and since each workout is only repeated four times, I don’t think I’ll get bored by the time we move on to a new stage.  I think that the next stages will keep my interest and I’m really excited about stage 6 and possibly being able to do a chin-up.  I’m going to reserve final judgment for when I finish the program.  All in all, thus far, I would definitely recommend it as a good read for an introduction to lifting heavy.  I would definitely caveat with the information about the first stage, and if I could do it over, I would probably only do four weeks of the first stage or do 3 workouts per week to make it go by faster.  I definitely enjoy it and have absolutely seen results from it in my arms and leg strength.

I almost forgot to mention- one place I think it lacks in the first stage is core work.  I really feel like I lost some of my core strength during that time- I don’t think I was pushed at all by the exercises in the first stage since my core was pretty well conditioned from previous pilates-based stuff.  If I could do over, I would supplement with additional core work.

I’ll try to remember to do a full and more focused review when I finish the program.

In other news, I drank 96 ounces of water to day, but did only 20 minutes of exercise.  I’m going to have to make up some time later in the week to meet my 320 minutes!

I also bought a foam roller tonight!  So excited to be able to use it regularly.

  1. #1 by ptg1002 on November 8, 2009 - 10:50 pm

    Thanks for the great review! I am picking up the book at the library on Thursday…any way you could send me what workout 1A is so I can do it on Tuesday? LOL

    Great job on the water, BTW!

Leave a Reply

