A New Start in November

I know I said I would be better about blogging, but I’ve not been.  I’ve continued to do my weight workouts twice a week though and went running for the first time in awhile.  It was a very short run, but I didn’t want to push it with my knee just starting to feel like it’s healing.  I have been foam rolling at the gym every chance I’ve had and I am going to try and make a trip out to buy one for myself this week.  I’m doing a “holiday health and fitness challenge” that PTG is hosting here.  I did give myself a weight loss goal of 3 lbs for the challenge, mostly so I don’t gain over the holidays.  I’m very happy with my weight now and won’t be disappointed if I don’t lose those pounds, but I think it’ll keep me more aware of my eating and exercise habits in the next couple of months.  My other goals for the challenge are to drink 80 oz of water per day and to exercise 320 minutes per week.  I’m really excited to have this motivation, I think it may be just the kick-start I need to get into winter training.

My plan is to track all this here, especially the exercise minutes, as a motivator to actually blog.  Sometimes I feel like it’s hard to make time for blogging after I get home from work, take Tara out for exercise, feed the animals, and cook dinner.  By the time I’m done with all that I never feel like doing anything other than relaxing.  Not to mention my personal laptop is really fickle these days and I have a lot of trouble with it.  I’m going to make a real effort as part of a personal holiday challenge to myself.

This week my exercise plan is the following:

Monday – NROL4W Stage 2 Workout A, and run/walk to make 90 minutes

Tuesday – Run 30 minutes and Walk 30 minutes

Wednesday – NROL4W Stage 2 Workout B and HIIT and run/walk to make 90 minutes

Thursday – Run 40 minutes and Walk 20 minutes

Friday – Yoga 60 minutes

Saturday – Run 50 minutes and Walk 10 minutes OR NROL4W Stage 1

Sunday – Rest day

 

I have one more goal to complete before the end of the year, and that is to pick my “A” races for next season, including at least a half-marathon and a half-Ironman.

  1. #1 by Amy on November 1, 2009 - 8:30 pm

    You should think about the Atlanta half-marathon and the Timberman half-Ironman! 🙂

  2. #2 by Amy on November 4, 2009 - 9:29 am

    You have great goals for the challenge! Best of luck to you!

Leave a Reply

