Adventure Weekend

Happy Monday!  Sorry for the hiatus, I completely forgot to mention that I was going to be away for the weekend and probably not able to blog at all.  Curtis’s company had a team-building weekend retreat out near Timberline Resort in West Virginia, so we left right after work on Friday to drive out there.  Needless to say, I did not get in my planned workouts for the weekend.  I was supposed to swim Friday, run Saturday, and bike Sunday, but I did none of those things.  Instead, I had some pretty adventurous fun.  Saturday, we went rock climbing in Nelson Rock Preserve.  I have only ever been climbing in indoor climbing gyms, so this was a huge challenge.  The guides set up several different routes for us to climb, some were “easy” and the most difficult were 5.8s.  I had been really curious how I would do now compared to previous attempts indoors, because I’m a lot stronger now from weight lifting than I ever have been in the past.  I climbed the 5.6 route first and it was really challenging.  There were a couple of times when I thought I couldn’t continue.  I said “I can’t” a lot during that first climb, but each time, I managed to persevere.  I am positive that a year ago I wouldn’t have been able to be as successful as I was this weekend.  I did have some trouble with my legs shaking in the beginning, but it got better with each climb that I did.  I guess I still need to work on my “mental training” and convincing myself that I CAN do it.

We had more adventure on Sunday when we went white water rafting at Wisp in Maryland near Deep Creek Lake.  It’s one of the only man-made white water courses in the world.  I’ve actually been there once before, so it wasn’t quite as exciting as climbing.  Still, it was a fabulous time.  Everyone in our raft got dumped in the water twice and a couple people more than that.  We actually did a pretty good job of navigating the course and the only times we fell out were when we were trying to do stunts like “surfing” and a tombstone.  After our very fun and adventure-filled weekend, we headed home.  Most of the rest of the group headed back to WV for another night, but I had to work today and Curtis had to leave for a business trip in Atlanta, so we opted not to stay the extra night.

This afternoon I had weight training with my mom, we are on week 5 of stage 1 of NROL4W:

A. Squats – 3 sets of 10 @ 90lbs

B1. Push-ups – 3 sets of 10 @ BW

B2. Seated Row – 3 sets of 10 @ 75lbs

C1. Step-ups – 3 sets of 10 @ 22.5lbs

C2. Prone Jackknife – 3 sets of 12 @ BW

Duration: 55:45

Average heart rate: 126

Max heart rate: 180

Calories: 357

After getting back home, I went straight out for a run.  I felt fantastic.  The weekend “off ” must have done great things for me.  I ran for 40 minutes and I have no idea how far I went, but I felt smooth and managed to get into a rhythm really quickly.  I’m going to try and map it out, but a fair amount was on trails that are difficult to find on the web maps.  I just estimated my route on mapmyrun.com and it looks like it was just about 4 miles give or take a bit due to curves in the trail that I couldn’t account for.  I have been using gmap-pedometer.com for ages to map runs, but today I tried out both mapmyride and mapmyrun and they are a little bit snazzier than gmap pedometer.  The downside to both of them is the ad that pops up if you don’t have a premium account.  Otherwise, the functionality is about the same, but mapmyrun/ride may be a little smoother than gmap pedometer.  The elevation feature, in particular, is a bit more useful on mapmyrun.  My stats for the run were:

Duration: 40:00

Average heart rate: 175

Max heart rate: 190

Calories: 465

Teaser…stay tuned later this week for some thoughts on 70.3 races that I’m considering for next year and in the future.

Have a great week!

, , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

