Boring blogs

My posts have been pretty boring of late.  I’ve been writing nothing but a blow by blow account of each training exercise I do, and I know it can’t be terribly exciting reading.  I’m going to try and start blogging about the experience more than the facts and stats, although I must admit, it is a whole lot easier to do the usual.  I’ll still record my workouts, but it will be a much shorter and quicker review and any tech-y info I’ve got for the session.  For today, I did a 4 mile run mapped out on Gmaps pedometer.  It was pretty hot, but cloudy so no blaring sun the whole time, which was a nice treat.

Stats…

Duration: 42.54 (10:43 pace)

Average heart rate: 174

Maximum heart rate: 188

Calories: 492

Today was supposed to be a biking day, but I have dinner plans tonight and I just didn’t want to bike.  I don’t know why lately, but I’ve not been wanting to do anything other than run.  There was a time when I absolutely loathed running, and now I can’t get enough!  I’ve been looking into some possible running races after the tri and in the spring.  There’s a 5K the weekend after the tri at my high school that I’d like to do.  I was reading up about it today, and apparently it draws a pretty interesting crowd of elite runners from Kenya.  This year will be the 10th anniversary of the first race…I don’t think I even knew about it when I was in high school, but apparently it’s a pretty big deal.  I might just sign up even if I don’t feel up to running it a week after the Oly.  It benefits the program in place there for mentally challenged students to help them through a mainstream high school.  The other race I’m considering is the Charlottesville half marathon in April.  It’s supposed to be a beautiful and really challenging course.  And I try to take every opportunity I can to get down to my alma mater!

I love multi-sport, but I really feel the need to mix it up a little bit and try some new things.  I’ve gotten a little bored with my training schedule lately, particularly the long bike rides as I mentioned before.  I think a big problem is that I just don’t like to ride by myself because with the higher mileage, I end up so far from home and alone.  I love riding with Curtis on the weekends, but he doesn’t usually get home early enough on weekdays to ride with me before it gets dark.  Especially now that the days are getting shorter again.  (Side note- I am SO excited for fall and cooler weather to come!!).  I’m beginning to wonder if I have the mental determination to stick with training long enough to do an Ironman, which is my eventual goal.  I guess I’ll just take it one stepping stone at a time and see how things go.  Speaking of goals and stepping stones, I don’t think I’ve ever shared my long-term racing goals, so here they are:

1. Complete an Olympic distance triathlon in Fall 2009

2. Complete a half marathon in Spring 2010

3. Complete a half Ironman in Fall 2010

4. Complete a marathon in Fall 2011

5. Complete an Ironman in 2012

I’m not trying to rush things on distance progressions, clearly!  I do eventually want to complete an Ironman, and I think three years gives me plenty of time to attain that goal.

What are your long term fitness goals?

, , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by ptg1002 on August 28, 2009 - 1:52 pm

    Thanks for visiting my blog!!

    I think your long term goals are good. I’m eyeing up a half-marathon this December (Vegas, baby, Vegas!) and maybe – just maybe – a full marathon in 2011. That just seems SO friggin’ far….

  2. #2 by ptg1002 on August 28, 2009 - 1:53 pm

    Oops…hit send before I meant to on that one!

    Anyway. The husband wants to do an Ironman as well at some point…I think my biggest long term goal is tacking a marathon.

  3. #3 by Amy on August 28, 2009 - 4:58 pm

    So, I haven’t 100% decided, but I think I’m going to sign up for a half-Ironman for 2010 and wait on the full. Have you looked into any options? I’m curious about what you think about different races. We were talking about maybe finding a destination-type race (like Vineman) where we could take a mini-vacation afterward, but it’s a little early in the season for me, I think I’d prefer an August or September date, so I’m still on the lookout for good race options (maybe Timeberman?).

  4. #4 by Beth on September 9, 2009 - 12:34 pm

    Hi, just ran across your blog and can totally relate to a lot of your experiences. I’ve only done 2 tris (sprint) but am now thinking about doing the international distance next year. Long term goal for me would be to do a half ironman, so I’m gonna follow you and see how yours goes first! Good luck w/ your goals!!

Leave a Reply

