Refreshed

My day off yesterday gave me the much needed boost to feel refreshed and ready to jump into my workout today.  Mom and I did Stage 1 Workout B, week 4 of the NROL4W.

A. Deadlift – 2 sets of 12 @ 100 lbs

B1. Shoulder Press – 1 set of 12 and 1 set of 11 @ 20 lbs dumbbells

B2. Wide-grip Lat Pulldown – 2 sets of 12 @ 70 lbs

C1. Lunge – 2 sets of 15 @ 20 lbs dumbbells

C2. Swiss-Ball crunch – 2 sets of 10 @ 45 lbs

Finally!  I am making progress on the shoulder press.  I was so close to pushing the last rep, but I just could not get my left arm to go all the way up.  Next week I’ll make it for sure (especially since we’re going down to only 10 reps!).  Both mom and I have been having form problems on the lat pulldown, but I think it as a lot to do with the cable machine we have to work with than a lack of strength.  I’m going to stay at 70 lbs till I can get the form into control.

Duration: 57:46 (but I forgot to stop it for a little while after the workout)

Average heart rate: 135

Max heart rate: 183

Calories: 428

After my weight lifting, I had a quick smoothie with 1% milk, 1 tbsp almond milk, 1 scoop chocolate whey protein powder, a banana and some ice cubes.  When Curtis got home an hour or so later, we went for a 30 minute run near our house, including two short sprint efforts.  I mapped the distance and it looks like about 2.8 miles, which is a 10:43 pace.

Duration: 39:17 (includes cool down)

Average heart rate: 161

Max heart rate: 200

Calories: 400

, , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

