Intervals

I made an impulse purchase today.  I saw an Polar F6 heart rate monitor on ebay for a pretty good deal, so I bid and won it.  It probably won’t get here for several days to a week, but I’m excited to finally be able to record average and max heart rates for my workouts.  I think it’s going to be a much better tool for me to track my fitness level, as far as cardio goes anyhow.  It doesn’t have a user’s guide with it, which I think is why it went for less than retail, but I don’t think it will be a problem.  I found a copy online that should be able to tell me everything I need to know!

After work today, I headed over to Mom’s for weight training.  We did a short walk to warm-up a bit then jumped right into it.  Today was week 2 of stage 1, workout B:

A. Deadlift – 2 sets of 15 @ 60 lbs

B1. Dumbbell Shoulder Press – 2 sets of 10 @ 15 lbs (this is supposed to be 2 sets of 15, but I can’t get there with the 15lbs DBs and the 10 lbs are too light)

B2. Wide-Grip Lat Pulldown – 2 sets of 15 @ 60 lbs

C1. Lunge – 2 sets of 15 @ 15 lbs dumbbells

C2. Swiss Ball Crunch – 1 set of 15 @ 35 lbs and 1 set of 8 @ 45 lbs (only supposed to be sets of 8 but 35 lbs was too light)

We’ve finally got a system down so that we’re being much more efficient and following the rest times more closely.  It’s been great to get in a good weight workout so quickly.  I think I’ve figured out my weights a bit better now, just in time to increase them for slightly shorter sets next week!

After weights and returning home, Curtis and I went for a run.  I decided it was a good opportunity to do some intervals, so I did 5 x 1 minute fast and 2 minutes recovery.  In all, we did 4.67 miles.  I finished in about 53 minutes.  Pretty slow pace, but I’m going to make the excuse that I lost a lot of ground during my recoveries.  I also forgot to change my socks, so I ended up with terrible blisters by the end of the run.  Oh well.

I’m really happy with the way my training is going, but I’m a little worried about my nutrition for the next week.  I’m going out to lunch Saturday, dinner Sunday night, probably Monday night, definitely Tuesday night, and Wednesday night cooking with a friend.  Eating out always screws up my schedule, but hopefully I’ll be able to find something that fits into my normal eating habits.  Eating out is one of my biggest struggles as far as healthy living goes.

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Amy on August 13, 2009 - 10:33 am

    Congrats on the impulse purchase! If you need a copy of the owner’s manual, I have a PDF version that I’d be happy to e-mail to you.

    Good luck with the eating out. I’ve found that having a drink impacts my workouts more than eating out does, but generally the two go hand-in-hand. I’ve gotten a lot of people asking if I’m pregnant recently, they don’t understand why training for a triathlon and drinking don’t mix!

Leave a Reply

