GREAT Swim

This morning was a bit of a bust as far as getting up to go swimming.  I ended up staying up much later than I intended and couldn’t drag myself out of bed this morning in time to get to the pool and still be at work by 7:30.  I’m not sure if I’ve ever commented on my work hours before, but part of the reason I usually workout in the afternoons/evenings is that I like to get to work between 7 and 7:30 so that I can leave at 4PM.  I would have to get up quite early in order to workout before that.  Anyways, I did get to the pool after work and had a great swim.  I felt really strong and could hardly tell that I hadn’t swum a complete workout in over 2 months.  Today’s swim was my favorite swimplan.com workout:

Warm-up

8 x 50 yds Freestyle Swim, RI 0:15

4 x 50 yds Any Stroke, RI 0:15 (butterfly, backstroke, breaststroke, freestyle)

Build up (repeat 6 times)

1 x 50 yds Single Arm (arm by side) 6 x left, 6 x right, 6 x full stroke, RI 0:10

1 x 50 yds Streamline Kicking, RI 0:10

Core

1 x 1500 yds, target time 28:30, RI 0:60

6 x 50 yds Any Stroke, RI 0:10 (butterfly, backstroke, breaststroke, freestyle, butterfly, backstroke)

Cool Down

4 x 50 yds Easy Any Stroke, RI 0:15 (breaststroke, 3 x freestyle)

I timed the 1500 yds set and finished in 26:29:57, which I was quite happy with.  I felt good pretty much throughout the set, minus a length when I inhaled some water and spent the entire time coughing.  But I just swam through it and got over it pretty quickly.  I think I could pick up the pace even a bit more than that, especially after practicing regularly.

Tomorrow is more weight training with Mom, then hopefully a short run afterward.  I’ve decided I need to change around my schedule a little bit because right now I’m scheduled to swim on Mondays and Wednesdays, but it’s tough to fit it in with the weight training.  I’m thinking of something like this:

Sundays – long bike ride or brick

Monday – weight training and optional run

Tuesday – swim and optional bike ride

Wednesday – weight training and short run

Thursday – short bike ride

Friday – long swim

Saturday – long run

My current schedule is quite unbalanced from moving things around, so it would be better to follow a plan with evenly spaced main workouts.  I’m going to try it out and see how things go the rest of this week and next week.

, ,

  1. #1 by Amy on August 12, 2009 - 9:47 am

    Nice swim!! Good luck with the schedule planning. I’ve been doing better sticking with mine recently, although I do sort-of feel like I’m getting into a rut and wish I could shake it up a bit. Maybe I’m just ready for the “off-season” to start, so that I can get back into the weight room and the yoga studio!

    Also, I’m not sure how you get to work by 7 AM! Yikes! I don’t have to be at work until 9:30 and even some days that seems early … but don’t worry, I get up just as early (if not earlier than you), I’m sure. I just mainly workout in the mornings.

  2. #2 by Lori on August 12, 2009 - 10:11 pm

    Wow – I am in awe of your swim!

Leave a Reply

