Weekend Workouts

I’m starting to feel a lot better about my training and the tri coming up.  My training has been more regular over the last week and I’m starting to feel like I’m not playing catch up quite as much as I had been.  I guess I didn’t lose as much of my base fitness as I thought I had.  Or maybe I’ve just done a good job of gaining it back.  Whatever it was, I’m glad to be back in the game!

Friday was a planned complete rest day.  I got home and felt like I should go do something anyways, but managed to convince myself to stick to the plan since I had done a pretty good job of getting in my workouts during the week.  Curtis and I had a “date” night and went out to a nearby seafood restaurant for some fresh fish.  We had a delicious dinner, starting with sushi as an appetizer.  Then seared ahi tuna with mushrooms and truffle sauce.  It was quite good.  Curtis had a whole flounder for his meal, with a really delicious cucumber salad on the side.  It was a very nice and relaxing evening.

The running club has a five mile run every Saturday morning (and a 10 miler on Sundays), so we decided to get up early to make it for the 8AM start.  Curtis had to drag me out of bed, because I woke up and decided I really didn’t want to go.  But we went, and I’m glad we did.  I started out running in the middle of a pack, but I was pretty much alone.  They all seemed to know each other and it was hard to find an opening to break into the conversation.  After a few minutes, they picked up the pace, faster than I wanted to push it.  So I fell back and met a really nice woman who has quite the running resume.  She has run numerous marathons and ultramarathons.  We ran together for the rest of the way together.  It was really nice because she’s been a member of the club for a number of years, so she could tell me a bit more about it and introduce me to a lot of the other people.  We did walk for a bit on a few hills, but ran the majority of the five miles.  I tried to not be the one to suggest dropping to a walk, I only asked to walk once.  The rest of the times, she was the one who decided when we would walk.  I think I’ll try it out again on Saturday and really try to run the whole five miles without stopping, even if it means I have to find someone new to run with.   The whole run took 53:11, so about a 10:30 pace.

After running, we met up with a bunch of the club members for breakfast at the town center nearby.  I had a very delicious bagel with veggie cream cheese.  Yum.  It was a nice break from my usual oatmeal for breakfast.  I don’t think we’d do the group breakfast on a regular basis, but it was nice to meet a few more people.

I did go to see a dog later on Saturday evening, and to see how she would do with my cat.  Unfortunately, it did not go well.  My poor kitty was not very happy about having to travel in her carrier and then get to a strange place to meet a big German Shepherd Dog.  Needless to say, she will not be my dog.  She definitely needs a cat-free home.

Having my workout done early in the day on Saturday was such a treat that  I decided to do it again on Sunday and go for my bike ride first thing in the morning.  I’ve found it’s easier to keep up with the training on the weekends if I commit to it first thing in the morning.  I did 34 miles in 2 hours and 19 minutes at an average 14.9mph pace.  Throughout the ride, I had a really hard time clipping in on my right pedal.  I’m not really sure what was wrong, at first I thought there might be something stuck in the pedal or in the cleat, but I checked mid-way through my ride and didn’t find anything.  I’m not sure what the problem was, but I hope it doesn’t happen again!

When I got back to the house, I was really happy to see that my average overall speed was a bit faster than my speed on the first leg of the ride (14.8mph).  It was a beautiful morning, if a little hot and humid.  I managed to keep up a good breeze to keep me cool throughout the ride.  By the time I was done, it was nearly 11AM and the sun was really beating down hard.  The rest of the day was pretty low key- Curtis and I wrote thank you notes for our wedding gifts and watched movies all day.

Today was my day for weight training with my mom.  We did NROL4W Stage 1, workout A:

A. Squats – 2 sets of 15 @ 60lbs

B1. Push-ups – 2 sets of 15 real push-ups

B2. Seated Row – 2 sets of 15 @ 70 lbs

C1. Step-ups – 2 sets of 15 @ 15lbs dumbbells

C2. Prone jackknife – 2 sets of 8

We’ve finally got our sessions worked out so that we are a lot more efficient about taking turns.  We had been trading off on each set, but that wasn’t very effective because it threw off our rest intervals.  It was also hard to constantly change the weights between my mom and me.  We haven’t figured out the perfect set-up yet, but we’re definitely making progress.

Tomorrow, I’m going to try and get to the pool in the morning to get a swim in before work.  We’ll see what happens.  I’m not very tired, but I’ll need to be asleep in a half hour in order to get enough sleep to get up on time.

Have a great week!

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Amy on August 11, 2009 - 1:43 pm

    I love getting my workouts done for the day in the morning, but I also hate waking up early and going to bed early. I wish someone could figure out that problem for me!

Leave a Reply

