Finally, a Swim!

This morning I got up early to get to the pool so I could get a swim in before work.  Finally!  The pool was open, and the lanes were nearly empty, so I managed to actually swim.  I only did 1400 meters, but after the foiled attempts in the past couple of weeks, I consider that progress!  I do need to find my good goggles though.  We took them to Fiji with us, and after that they never made it back into my gym bag, so now I have no idea where they are.  The others that I have fog up quite badly.  My work out was:

600 meters Freestyle warm-up

100 meters Freestyle with fins, 6 strokes with head up and 6 strokes with head down

100 meters streamline kick with fins

10×50 meters choice (Freestyle with 6-head up/6-head down, Butterfly drill, Backstroke, Breaststroke, Freestyle, Butterfly kick with fins, Breaststroke drill with fins, Backstroke kick with fins, Freestyle full stroke with fins)

50 meters Push & Glide

50 meters Freestyle easy

After work I headed over to Mom’s for some weight lifting.  We did workout B of stage 1 of NROL4W:

A. Deadlift – 2 sets of 15 @ 60 lbs

B1. Dumbbell Shoulder Press – 1st set of 8 reps @ 15lbs dumbbells and 7 reps @ 10lbs, 2nd set of 10 reps @15lbs

B2. Wide-Grip Lat Pulldown – 1 set of 15 @ 70 lbs and 1 set of 15 @ 60 lbs

C1. Lunge – 2 sets of 15 @ 15lbs dumbbells

C2. Swiss-Ball Crunch – 2 sets of 15 @ 25lbs and 35lbs

As you can see, I had a bit of trouble with choosing weights today.  I did better on Monday with selecting the correct weights.  The weird thing was that the DB shoulder press was really hard at 15lbs, but that’s what I usually lift!  I’m not sure what the deal is.  I’m still getting used to my mom’s weight set-up, but I was surprised at how hard the 15lbs were.  But when I backed down to 10lbs they were much much too light.  I think I need to be at 12.5, but that’s a difficult weight to make with these dumbbells.  They’ll be uneven.  So, I’m going to press through with the 15s till I can lift them comfortably.  Hopefully I’ll figure something out when I graduate to 17.5s!  The lat pulldown was more difficult without the bar to hold my legs down!  I had to decrease the weight on the second set to complete it.

I am thinking about joining a running club that’s local to my new house.  They do runs on the weekends, 5 miles on Saturday and 10 miles on Sunday.  It might be good to find some new people who run. I’ll keep you posted on what I decide.  I might do a “trial” run this weekend on Saturday, so stay tuned for an update.

Also on the books for Saturday is looking for a dog to adopt.  Wish me luck!

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Amy on August 6, 2009 - 9:47 am

    Well, I hope you get a dog that likes to run! Good luck with the running and the dog hunting!

    The running club sounds like a good idea, too!

Leave a Reply

