Long Run and Unscheduled Rest

Home again, home again!  I finished work early on Friday in Ottawa, and managed to catch an early flight home.  I had  a planned rest day on Friday since I hadn’t been sure of what my schedule would be like with the travel.  I spent the evening relaxing and hanging out with Curtis.  Saturday was back to the training grindstone.  We followed my training plan and did 64 minutes of running.  I have no idea what the mileage was, but I know that we ran a lot of hills!  I managed to keep running through the entire workout, although I was having trouble with my heart rate shooting up really high (max 194bpm) when going up hills.  I know that it’ll get better, but the few moments that it is up really high are really hard to keep working through!

I’m really proud of myself for this run, because there were a number of times when I just wanted to stop.  I managed to keep myself going though!  This was really good mental training, especially since my legs weren’t really tired at all and my lungs were only a little tired.  It really helped to have Curtis running with me and cheering me on. 🙂

On Sunday, I had planned a long bike ride.  Unfortunately, it rained all morning and then I had things to do for the afternoon and company coming over for dinner.  So, needless to say, I ended up taking the day off.  But I got a lot done around the house and my living room is FINALLY setup the way I want it.  We had paella and brownies with ice cream for dinner.  It was delicious, if I do say so myself.  I love entertaining, so it was especially fun to show off our new furniture in our new house.

Today, I did weight training with Mom and then planned to go swimming or take a bike ride afterward.  That didn’t end up happening, I stopped by my neighbor’s house when I got home and ended up staying and chatting for over an hour!  By the time I realized how late it was, it was already dark and I was really hungry.  But anyways, I digress- we started Stage 1 of the New Rules of Lifting for Women program today.  After a short walk to warm-up, we jumped into it:

A. Squats – 2 sets of 15 @ 60lbs

B1. Push-ups – 1 set of 15 regular and 1 set of 15 @ 30 degrees

B2. Seated row – 2 sets of 15 @ 75lbs

C1. Step-up – 2 sets of 15 @ 15lbs dumbbells

C2. Prone jackknife – 1 set of 8 and 1 set of 10

The only exercise I hadn’t done before was the Prone jackknife, and I think we were doing it wrong.  I just found this video of it: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jj0eox45Dv4.  Anybody know if this is the correct way?  It looks different than in the book.

, , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

