Hermit crabs?

What a crazy weekend!  I ended up taking two days off training (Friday and Saturday), oops!  I had bachelorette parties to go to both Friday and Saturday nights and didn’t get nearly enough sleep either one.  Being out in DC till the wee hours is not something I’m used to, I’m usually much more of a homebody.  Nevertheless, I had a blast!  Although I wish it hadn’t impacted my training schedule.  Such is life.

After two nights of debauchery, I was ready to get back in the saddle on Sunday.  Curtis and I wanted to go for a long ride in the evening after we had finished running errands and getting organized.  Curtis also had to fix his rear tire since it went flat during our last ride.  While he was doing that I ran out to stock up on groceries for the week (or longer if possible) at Trader Joes.  That place never ceases to amaze me.  I always find fantastic deals and manage to stock up on various proteins for so much less expensive than any other grocery store.  I can never believe it when I check out and the total bill is so low.  And the food is so good and good quality too!  When I was done there, I headed home and Curtis was just finishing up with his bike.  Unfortunately, it also started getting cloudy and looking like it was going to storm.  I don’t feel safe riding when there’s a possibility of thunderstorms, but I don’t mind running (there’s just something about being on your own two feet and not a partially metal bicycle frame (most of my bike is carbon fiber, but I have no idea how that would react after getting struck by lightning).  So we decided to trade out our bike ride for a long run instead.

I felt fantastic for the first 25 minutes of our run.  My stride felt good, my legs felt strong, and my breathing was steady.  Even my heart rate stayed relatively low for me.  At 25 minutes, my stomach began to act up and I had to stop and walk for a bit to try and let it pass.  I do not do well with food in my stomach during running, and yesterday I had already eaten a couple of dates in anticipation of cycling.  Bad idea.  After about 12 minutes of walking, I was ready to try jogging again.  I felt much better, I still stopped one last time for about a minute and a half, but the walking helped tremendously.  I wanted to try and run for the full 58 minutes of my training schedule, so I went ahead and kept running for awhile (Curtis ran ahead and home around my second break).  I made it!  I felt pretty good the whole time I was running.  I’ll just have to avoid eating prior to running in the future.

Today after work I had my second to last weight training session.  I’m taking a break to try out the plan in the The New Rules of Lifting for Women. My mom wants to start lifting, and asked me to work with her for awhile, so I’m going to do that instead of my normal gym workout.  I’m excited, it should be fun, I can’t wait to see how much stronger I can get by mixing up the plans a bit.

After weights, I got home and finally managed to fit in that bike ride I missed out on over the weekend.  I did a total of 19.8 miles at an average speed of 13.9 mph and max speed at 27.6 mph.  The total ride time was 1:25:07 (planned 1:17).  All in all it was mostly an uneventful ride.  I was slower on the in leg than the out leg, which is something I need to work on.  When I was almost to my house, though, I saw something strange.  It looked like a strip of spikes was laying across the trail.  I managed to dodge them, and realized they were hermit crab shells, and it looked like they were occupied!  After I got home, I grabbed some tupperware and headed back to that area to save the hermit crabs.  When I got there, I found that none of them were alive, they had just appeared to be when I was whipping past on my bike.  Even still, I decided to collect them to at least get them out of the way of other cyclists and runners.

What is the strangest thing you’ve seen while working out?

, , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

