Ending on a good note

Finally!  Decent weather!  This evening was sunny, with no rain clouds in sight, so Curtis and I finally got to go for a bike ride outside.  It was quite hot and humid, but not too bad (bearable) with the wind on the bike.  We did 20.76 miles total in 1:30, with an average speed of about 13.x mph.  I’ll try to check on the exact numbers and update tomorrow, because I don’t remember them off the top of my head.  I dont want to go retrieve my cycling computer right now since it’s all the way downstairs in the garage, and I’m quite tired lying here in bed.  The ride was actually quite good, despite the heat and humidity.  I still found that I was going out too hard in the first half and killing my legs in the second half.  I really need to work on that.  I also fixed my cadence monitor, so I spent most of the ride watching that and realizing how much harder it is to keep it above 90 on a real bike versus the stationary bikes at the gym.  Having the cadence measure has also helped me realize that I’ve been trying to push too big a gear for extended periods of time.  I think that’s a major contributor to always killing my legs on the second half of a bike ride.  I think it’s going to be a really great tool to improving my cycling.

I should mention that I did workout yesterday too, I lifted for 45 minutes and rode the stationary bike for an hour.  I don’t remember my exact routine for the lifting, but I know the core work included a modified pilates bridge on a stability ball and bicycle crunches.  We also attempted to do the bicycle crunches on a bosu ball, and it was so hard!  Attempting to balance on my back and move my arms and legs at the same time is not one of my strengths!  We also did some horizontal wood choppers, prisoner squats + knee-up, more squats, lat pull down, row, press, wall sit, bench lunges, and bicep curls.  There may have been a few more things that I forgot, but you get the gist of it.  As usual a full body workout, and it was quite tough.  I worked out with a different group than I usually did today, but I have noticed across the board at all the different groups there are some people that just don’t push themselves.  I don’t get it.  Why waste the money and go through the motions if you’re not going to really push yourself to succeed?  Is it just for the bragging rights to say they worked out?  I can’t believe it when I see people changing to lighter weights than our trainer gives, when they can do the full weight.  Oh, well!  They’re only cheating themselves on a great workout!

I mentioned I also rode the stationary bike for an hour.  Nothing too exciting here, actually quite the opposite.  I was so bored!  I usually can do the machines for a long time without any entertainment other than people-watching, but yesterday was tough.  I barely managed to stay on for the full 60 minutes because I was so bored.  I’m so glad I have my own bike to ride outside and I can’t wait to get a trainer so I can ride in my own house and watch tv or something to keep myself occupied.

Overall, I’m pretty happy with my effort this week.  I’ve even kept up with my blogging!  The rest of the weekend is going to be spent moving…packing on Saturday and then taking all my stuff to the new place on Sunday.  I’ll be lifting lots of heavy boxes, but luckily I’ll have lots of help from my brothers and Curtis!

Happy weekend!

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Susan on June 13, 2009 - 6:14 am

    I’ve been counting my cadence lately and I naturally keep it in that 85-95 zone. I know that’s good, but I hear so many people unecessarily going below that, I feel like a wuss! 😛

    Ohman, pilates core work is the hardest. Serious weight lifters always look down on pilates, but I’d like to see them do a bunch of hundreds and teasers then say that 😛

    Good luck moving!!!

Leave a Reply

