Recap

I have been a terrible blogger lately!  I’m afraid I’m not going to get much better and just fall off the wagon completely!  Don’t worry though, despite my absence in the blogosphere, I have been getting better about training regularly again.  Starting Wednesday last week, I’ve actually done something 4/5 days, which is not bad coming off of at least a week of nothing!

On Thursday, the weather was crappy- very cloudy and drizzly, but I decided to go swimming anyways.  My gym’s pool converts from indoor to outdoor every summer.  They have a giant bubble that covers it in the winter months, but during the summer it is open.  I forgot how much I LOVE swimming in an outdoor pool versus indoor.  I think it has to do with the air quality.  There isn’t the chemical saturation you get in an indoor pool, which makes it feel less dense and thick.  It wasn’t actually raining when I got in the pool, and I was really excited about the swimplan.com workout I had generated.  Unfortunately, I only got to swim about 1000 meters of it before the lifeguard heard thunder and shutdown the pool.  They’re required to close for 30 minutes, and I could have waited, but felt there was no point.  As a former lifeguard, I knew that there is almost always going to be more thunder that pushes that 30 minutes back even farther.  I didn’t have any regular clothes to run or bike or anything else, so I just went home instead of sitting around and waiting in my bathing suit.  Of course, it never actually stormed, which was a huge bummer.  I probably should have stayed, but you know what they say about hindsight!

Anyways my planned workout was this:

Warm-up:

600 m Freestyle Swim, RI 0:60

Build-up (repeat 2 times):

1 x 100 m Single Arm (arm out in front- 6xleft, 6xright, 6xfull), RI 0:15

6 x 50 m Freestyle DPS, RI 0:10

1 x 100 m Zipper, RI 0:15

Core

2 x 400 m Freestyle Pull with pull buoy, RI 0:60

12 x 100 m Freestyle Swim with fins, RI 0:15

Cool-Down

1 x 50 m Freestyle Push & Glide, RI 0:10

1 x 50 m Freestyle Easy, RI 0:10

Total Distance: 3800 m

I only got through the Freestyle DPS drill for the first repeat of the build-up.  I felt AWESOME in the water though.  I’m thinking I may do this workout tonight- it’s a beautiful day and hopefully there won’t be any storms!

Friday was a blah day for me, so I opted out of working out.  Saturday was pretty busy all day long with wedding stuff, so I just managed a short run/walk on Saturday evening.  I got the most terrible side stitch after the first quarter mile.  I tried to run through it, but after half a mile, I had to stop at to wait to cross a street.  After that, it was even worse, and I was actually having trouble just walking with it, and running was miserable.  I ended up doing about 2.5 miles, mostly walking.  I think maybe I was dehydrated?  I don’t usually get side stitches when I run, and they’ve never been so bad that I felt like I could not go on running.  I decided to try the running thing again on Sunday.  I am so glad I did!  It was a complete 180 from the previous run.  I felt great, ran a full 3 miles and walked .5 miles to cool down.  I also had my roommate’s dog, who was awesome.  She is pretty good at pacing, but doesn’t have the stamina for longer runs (6 miles seems to be at or close to her max), so this distance was perfect.

I’m challenging myself to post every day for the next two weeks, if I write it here, then I have to do it!  After that, I’ll be gone for my wedding and honeymoon for three weeks, so I won’t be able to update during that time.  I’m going to try and actually do “Thoughtful Thursday” posts for the next five weeks ahead of time, so hopefully I’ll at least have those.  When I get back, I’ll only have 8 weeks till Nation’s Tri!

Hope you all had great weekends!

, , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

