Bonus Post!

To make up for my lack of blogging lately, you get a bonus post tonight!  Mostly because I had a super-fabulous workout today, and I just had to share.  It felt so good to have a productive workout.  I actually spent 2 and a half hours at the gym tonight, can you believe it???  I can’t either.

I started off with my usual weight training.  Here’s a brief summary of the workout (I might have missed something, so don’t hold me to it!):

Russian Twists with 12lbs medicine ball

V-ups with 12lbs medicine ball

Can-opener sit-ups

Push-ups with one hand on the medicine ball

Push-ups

Bench lunges with 2 dumbbells @ 15lbs each

Chest press @ 2o lbs for each arm

Assisted pull-ups @ ~85lbs

Bicep Curls with rope on cable machine @ 50lbs

Downward row? @ 95lbs

Jump Squats (BW)

Squats + 25lbs plate

Bench dips

Rotator cuff with bands

Push-press with bands

Wall-sit

Squat + shrug @ 17.5 lbs dumbbells

I think that was everything.  The jump squats always get my heart rate up really high, so I always have a really hard time on the next set.  I really want to get to the point where I can do an unassisted pull-up.  I think I probably could have done more than 85lbs today, but my arms were pretty tired by the end of the second set.  I don’t think I’ve ever been able to do them, I can remember watching the few girls in elementary school who could, but I was definitely not one of them.

After weight lifting, I went swimming.  Can I just repeat that I LOVE swimming outside!  There’s just something about it that makes the entire experience so much better.  I did the swimplan.com workout that I posted earlier today.  3800 m in 1:25 minutes.  Not too shabby considering I had just finished 45 minutes of weight lifting.  My arms felt like jelly on the first 600 m, so I took it really slow.  After that, I was in a rhythm and felt pretty good for the rest of the workout.  Although, I did learn one thing- I cannot do the Zipper drill.  I don’t know why, but it was not pretty.  I felt like a floundering fish.

It was probably a good experience though, because it reminded me of the most important water skill any swimmer must have, the ability to relax and NOT panic.  I’m not going to talk about this now, but lookout for more of my thoughts on the subject in a Thoughtful Thursday post soon.

I’m sleepy from all that exercising today, my body doesn’t know what hit it!  Haha.  So, I’m off to bed to rest up and recover!  Have a great night!

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Amy on June 9, 2009 - 8:56 am

    Sounds like a great workout! I’m really jealous of your indoor/outdoor pool. It’s been raining so much here that even if that was an option for me, I’d probably still be stuck swimming indoors. The rain is also making me a little stir crazy at the gym. All I want to do is go outside!

  2. #2 by Amy on June 9, 2009 - 8:57 am

    Oh, and as far as the pilates go … I really like it! I also love the fact that since my friend is getting her certification, I get all the lessons for free right now. I’m sure I’ll end up signing up with her once she’s done, but the timing of her training and mine has worked out perfectly.

Leave a Reply

