Busy, Busy, Busy!

I started out the weekend intending to take it a bit easier with my training and ended up taking off a few days.  I did go swimming on Thursday and had a great swim.  I didn’t realize how much I missed being in the water!  I haven’t swum since my tri, so it had been a few weeks since I’ve done any swimming at all.  Partly that was because the pool I usually go to has been closed in preparation for the summer season.  It’s an outdoor pool in the summer and in the winter it’s covered in one of those huge white bubbles, so for a few weeks every spring they close it for cleaning and to take the bubble down.  I think it should be open again now that it’s past Memorial day.  Thursday I went to a different pool and did this workout (from swimplan.com):

Warm-up (repeat 2 times)

2 x 50yd Any Stroke (even pace), rest 0:15

1 x 100yd Backstroke Easy, rest 0:15

1 x 100yd Freestyle Easy, rest 0:20

Build up (repeat 4 times)

1 x 50yd Single Arm (arm by side) 6 x left, 6 x right, 6 x full stroke, rest 0:10

1 x 50yd Streamline Kicking, rest 0:10

1 x 100yd Freestyle Push & Glide, rest 0:20

Core

8 x 100yd Freestyle Swim, target time 1:36, rest 0:20

6 x 50yd Freestyle Kick with kickboard, rest 0:15

8 x 100yd Freestyle Swim, target time 1:36, rest 0:20

4 x 50yd Freestyle Kick with kickboard, rest 0:15

Cool Down

2 x 50yd Breaststroke Easy, rest 0:10

2 x 50yd Backstroke Easy, rest 0:10

Total Distance: 3700 yards

Total Time: 1:20

I was able to swim most of the 16 x 100s in the target time, with just a few with times up to 1:40.  My workout was a bit slower overall than I would normally swim it, but I will blame that on the kickboard drills.  I wasn’t pushing too hard and my legs were still quite sore from earlier workouts that week.

Friday I had a complete rest day.  I also went into DC for Jazz and Sangria in the sculpture garden of the National Gallery of Art.  It was a beautiful evening and perfect for a night out on the town.  Saturday, Curtis and I took a looong walk/run (5.5 miles total).  We did about one mile of running, but we were both quite tired and felt no need to push it.  We were really just enjoying being outside in the sunshine.

Sunday, we spent the whole day moving him into our new townhouse.  I’m counting that as my workout for the day since I was lugging boxes and furniture back and forth and up and down stairs.  Next up, moving me!  Although we have a few weeks before that happens.  I have to do a lot of packing between now and then.

We moved the last few items on Monday morning, and were going to try and fit in a bike ride before the Memorial day parties started, but unfortunately didn’t finish in time.  The rest of the day was spent cooking out by the pool and hanging out with some friends.

Today, I woke up to rain.  It rained all day and was quite windy.  Needless to say, I did not brave the weather to do an outdoor workout, and chose not to go to the gym.  I decided to spend my time going through my clothes and packing up everything I can get rid of.  I also am getting ready for this weekend.  My girlfriends and I are headed to Las Vegas for my bachelorette party! 🙂  I am so excited.

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Amy on May 27, 2009 - 9:21 am

    I’m jealous of your swimplan.com workout. I tried it again today and even though I click on kickboard as an option, I never get to use any toys in the pool! Hope you have a fantastic weekend. Just remember … what happens in Vegas, stays in Vegas …

  2. #2 by specialkkluthe on May 29, 2009 - 8:12 pm

    Have fun in Vegas!

Leave a Reply

