Dead Legs…

My legs are exhausted!  I think they need a break, so I’m not so sure trying spinning tomorrow is the best idea.  After Monday’s weight lifting and yesterday’s bike ride, my legs were quite sore today, especially my hamstrings!  And then tonight at weight training, guess what we started with?  Hamstring exercises.  I also ran for about 45 minutes (20 before lifting and 25 after lifting).  Needless to say, my legs feel like dead weights.  So, I may extend my swim tomorrow instead of trying to catch the spinning class.  I haven’t been in the water since the tri, so I really need to get a good swim in anyways.

I don’t know why, but my legs aren’t the only part of me that is exhausted.  I can’t seem to stay awake at work, and I’ve been falling asleep as soon as my head hits the pillow (or sooner – I fell asleep finishing my blog last night!).  I’ve been seeing a lot of articles and blogs talking about overtraining lately, so at first I thought that was a possibility.  But after thinking about it, I really don’t think that’s possible.  I’ve barely trained in the last couple of weeks, especially considering my volume previously.  So, I’m not really sure what the deal is.  I’m going to really make an effort to get a little more sleep tonight and tomorrow night and see if I can re-energize.  Hopefully getting a full 8 hours of sleep will help.   Fingers crossed.

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Lori on May 20, 2009 - 9:40 pm

    Don’t underestimate the possibility of over training.

    I had exercised a lot before training for my tri, but I think I am experiencing some early overtraining effects of sleep disturbance, and general fatigue.

    This week I am taking it a little easier (not stopping), but just being conscious of going a little easier on my body and taking 1 extra rest day. I would rather be on the cautious side.

    Also – extra vitamin B might help you out.

  2. #2 by Kristin on May 20, 2009 - 10:04 pm

    Thanks for the comment, Lori. You’re right, I’m going to try and make sure I really get enough sleep and take it a bit easier for the next few days.

  3. #3 by innovatel on May 21, 2009 - 5:48 pm

    Whne my legs are exhausted I’m going to swim but I don t use legs to move myself … water relax me a lot 🙂 In other case … relax at home … read … see tv … see the sky … 🙂

Leave a Reply

