Ramblings

Happy Hump day!  This week is dragging by, but the end is in sight!  I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned it, but Curtis has been away for work for the past three and a half weeks and only home on the weekend, and this is going to continue for the rest of this week and likely next week too!  All his travel is making the time go by so slowly for me, because I’m constantly waiting for him to just come home already.  I know he wishes he was home too.  I’ll be glad when he can come home for good.

Today’s workout was the typical weight lifting.  I also walked for about 15 minutes on the treadmill to warm-up beforehand.  Unfortunately, I didn’t get my run in because I had to be somewhere right away after the gym.  Weight lifting has been tricky for me lately, and I’m not really sure what the deal is.  A lot of the exercises are going by without having to invest a maximum effort, which makes me feel like I’m not making great gains.  Of course, I do a lot better when I have a little competition and try to “beat” the other people I’m lifting with.  Lately, I’ve been the one able to lift the heaviest, so there’s nothing to aspire to within the group.  Maybe I’m just in a funk, we’ll see how next week goes.

Lately, I’ve been thinking about what it is that makes someone a triathlete.  There’s the clear marker- when you finish your first triathlon.  At that moment, you become “triathlete”.  I actually get chills when someone gets to hear, “Congratulations, Triathlete!” for the first time.  And as a side note, I’m thrilled at the anticipation of being able to officially congratulate each of you as you complete your first races in the next couple of months!  But really, even though this moment is huge, and I don’t want to underplay that, being a triathlete is really about will-power, motivation, and confidence.  While I can’t speak for anyone else, I know the first moment that I thought to myself, I can do a triathlon, was also the first moment I started to be a triathlete.

And if I can do it, I think anyone can, so why are there so few of us that do?  I’ve tried to convince a few people to get into multi-sport and other than Curtis trying out the super-sprint, I haven’t been successful at all.  They usually claim not to be able to do the swim, or the run, or not have a bike, or just have no desire.  I can understand not having the desire- triathlon is not for everyone.  I probably wouldn’t like it quite as much if it was; there’s something special about being one of a handful of people in the world that can claim to be triathletes.  But some, I think, have been genuinely interested, but can’t get past what they think they can’t do.  Now, I am lucky, because I have been a swimmer all my life, and I think that is really one of the biggest hurdles for many people to overcome.  Though there are plenty of people who have never been swimmers who learn and are able to compete (I am constantly inspired and impressed by the amount of effort other athletes put into overcoming their limiters!).

I am certain that the reason triathletes are a class all their own is that at some point, they had to say to themselves, “I can do this.”  And then they had to believe it through the several months (give or take) of their training to their first race, when they become official triathletes.  They may choose to continue or stop, but they’ll have always that moment when they gathered up their confidence and determination and signed up for their first race.

Obviously, I’m hooked.  I don’t think I’ll ever give it up, and I have aspirations to some day gain the honor of being the oldest finisher at a race.  I am in awe of the 60 and 70+ year olds that still compete, and proud to be in their company at races.  I’ve had a major change in perspective since I began training in the way I live my life, and I think it’s been nothing but beneficial.  I’m happier and (a lot!) healthier- what more could you ask of a hobby?

Well, there is one thing-I’m really quite jealous of those of you who have friends who are also into triathlon.  While I have a few triathlete acquaintences, I don’t have anyone to obsess with or to train with.  I am on the lookout for some good tri-buddies, so if you’ve got any to share, send them my way!  I’m hoping to join a local tri club after I move in the next month or so, but I’m worried that it might be one of those situations where everyone else already knows each other so well that it’s hard to break in.  I’m not shy, but I’m also not the most outspoken or outgoing person, so sometimes getting into groups is a challenge.  I’ll keep you posted on what I decide to do.

Anyways, that’s all for tonight.  I hope you don’t mind my rambling diversion from the normal “all training all the time” in this blog, just something I’ve been thinking about.  Have a good end of the week!

, ,

  1. #1 by Amy on May 14, 2009 - 12:14 pm

    I joined a club, but I definitely got the vibe that they all already knew each other. It’s hard to break into that, but I figure if I just keep going when I can eventually they’ll recognize me and at some point I’ll be one of those people who knows everyone too. And, don’t forget, we’re all out here on the net obsessing about tri-related things ourselves!

  2. #2 by Kathy Kluthe on May 16, 2009 - 4:20 pm

    I used to be one of those people who said “No, I don’t think I could ever do a triathlon. I could do the bike and run but not the swim.” And here I am, doing a triathlon. And while the swim has had its ups and downs (which you know about!), it’s been really fun and exciting training for this. There definitely is something about being able to say you’re a triathlete (if not just because most other people shake their head in astonishment at you!) 🙂

    I joined a tri training class at my gym. There are about 6 other ladies in the class who are training for tris and none of them knew each other before…so maybe you could look into something like that? I bet the YMCA or Community Ed might have something similar in your area.

Leave a Reply

