Finally! Sunshine!

What a gorgeous day!  The sun was out, the sky was blue with white fluffy clouds, and the temperature was perfect; I spent a lot of the day staring longingly outside while I was at work.  I have really been itching to go for a bike ride all week, and I thought today would finally be the day.  Unfortunately, around 3:00 the clouds started rolling in.  By the time I left work at 5:30, I was afraid it would either storm or get dark too fast to ride, so I decided to wait till this weekend and try again during the day.

I have to admit, I was feeling a little out of sorts by the time I got home.  I was just having one of those days where I was in a funk and didn’t have the motivation to do anything, so I started doing some emotional eating…bad idea!  I used to be really really bad about eating when I was bored or to make myself feel better.  In the past year or two, I’ve gotten MUCH better about not doing this, but I still have my days.  I’ve been really stressed at work this week and it’s carried over to my eating habits, which I think has made things even worse for my physical and mental status.  So, after eating leftover Thai food (another bad idea), I decided to drag myself out and go for a run.  I’d much rather get stuck in the rain while running than stuck out biking in a thunderstorm at dusk.

I ran a mile to warm up, and about halfway through I was really regretting the spicy Thai sitting in the pit of my stomach.  But instead of doing the logical thing and stopping or lightening the workout, I did the opposite and decided to run sprint intervals.  I did 15 minutes of intervals, running 30 seconds at nearly all-out pace (HR:175-180, Zone 5) with 1:00 RI walking.  Despite still feeling like I was going to vomit (sorry if TMI), I actually felt pretty good, strong and fast.  Just as I was about to start my second sprint, some bikers were passing me on the trail and one of them decided to match my pace for a few seconds.  He yelled out to me that I was a fast runner.  Of course, I couldn’t just take the compliment and smile and thank him, I had to yell back that I wasn’t yet but I was trying to be, at which he pointed out that I was running 19 mph.  I’m pretty sure he was either exaggerating or I heard him wrong, because I’ve never run that fast in my life.  That’s a 3:09 minute mile pace.  Even for only a 30 second effort, that seems ridiculously fast to me.  Maybe he said 9 mph, that’s a much more reasonable 6:40 minute mile pace.  Yeah, it had to have been that.  Regardless, I was pleased with my sprint efforts.  I decided to walk for recovery, and I’m glad I did, I was able to push through more intense intervals that way.  After the intervals, I ran the last 2.75 miles home.  In all, I did about 5.25 miles in 70 minutes or so.  Considering the amount of walking I did, I’m fine with this time.

I’m really glad I made myself workout tonight, I feel much better.  The endorphin rush does great things for me!  Anyways, I need to go plan out my training for the rest of the year.  Back to my regularly scheduled training next week!

,

  1. #1 by Amy on May 9, 2009 - 2:28 pm

    I know *exactly* what you mean about the weather. I’m ready for some serious sunshine! I thought it was supposed to be April showers?

    Nice run. 9 MPH still sounds pretty fast!

Leave a Reply

