Unstructured Training

Thanks, everyone for your congratulatory messages and good thoughts on Saturday!  It definitely helped me to know that I was going to have to own up to my results on this blog.  I can’t wait to see how your tri’s go.  🙂

I decided to take it somewhat easy this week, and not plan out my training too much.  I’ve got a rough training schedule, but nothing is really set in stone for this week except weight lifting yesterday and tomorrow.  I’m going to sit down and plan out the rest of the season to get to the Oly later this week.  Starting next week, that gives me eighteen weeks until the tri.  Although, I am going to be away for three weeks this summer for my honeymoon in Fiji!  So, I can’t count on doing a whole lot of working out (especially biking), but I think that’s ok.

Anyways, yesterday I had weight training.  It’s the beginning of a new session, so we’re only doing single sets right now, and it goes by really fast.  I started out trying to remember everything and keep track of the weights we were lifting, but I quickly lost track.  After this 13 week session, I might attempt to do weight training on my own.  I bought a copy of the New Rules of Weight Lifting for Women, and I’m looking forward to reading it and seeing what else I can get out of lifting.  I do love the small group aspect of training, but I would like to learn to do things on my own.  It gets pretty expensive to do the training sessions. We’ll see how it goes.

After lifting, I decided to run on the treadmill for a bit.  I ended up running for 3.5 miles (40 minutes) and doing 20 minutes of walking split between my warm-up and cool-down.  I actually felt pretty good after my run.

Today, I debated whether to swim, bike or run, and opted to run again.  I’m thinking I really need to ramp up my running intensity and volume if I’m going to get any better at it.  I’m going to aim for three runs a week, including one long run on the weekends.  Tonight’s run on the treadmill was intervals.  I did a total of 3.7 miles in 40 minutes, including a 10 minute walking cool-down.  Here’s the whole workout:

5 minutes @ 5.5 mph (11 minute mile pace)

2 minutes @ 7.0 mph (8:30 minute mile pace)

2 minutes @ 7.4 mph (8:06 minute mile pace)

1 minute @ 6.0 mph (10:00 minute mile pace)

5 minutes @ 5.5 mph (11 minute mile pace)

2 minutes @ 7.8 mph (7:41 minute mile pace)

1 minute @ 6.0 mph (10:00 minute mile pace)

2 minutes @ 5.0 mph (12:00 minute mile pace)

2 minutes @ 5.7 mph (10:30 minute mile pace)

2 minutes @ 6.0 mph (10:00 minute mile pace)

2 minutes @ 6.3 mph (9:30 minute mile pace)

2 minutes @ 6.6 mph (9:05 minute mile pace)

2 minutes @ 6.9 mph (8:42 minute mile pace)

10 minutes cool-down

I forgot to wear my heart rate monitor, so I was relying on my perceived exertion to track my effort.  I think I pushed pretty hard today, so I’m happy with my workout.  I’ve still got a lot of work to do on my running though.  I’d like to get to the point where an 8-minute mile pace is a base interval and not such an exertion.  I know I can do it.

I hoping to get in some biking this week, but he weather has been gross here, and it’s not really supposed to get any better till Thursday.  I’m thinking about trying out a spinning class this week.  I need to check the class schedule at the gym and find a good time.

Thanks again, blog friends, for all your support!

, , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

