Resting

My parents, Curtis and I went and tasted food for the wedding today, so we spent about 4 hours driving back and forth (the wedding is 2 hours away from home).  We tasted a lot of food, now we just have to make our final decisions on our menu.  Eeek, the wedding is only 7 weeks away!  🙂  Anyways, I had a brick planned for today, but I’ve decided to take it easy and do it tomorrow.  After I looked at my training plan for this week I realized I had biking planned for tomorrow anyways, so I just figured I’d do the longer ride (1:30) tomorrow followed by a 3 mile run.  I’m going to need to do it either early tomorrow morning or after it cools off in the evening because it’s supposed to be HOT tomorrow- the forecast says 91°F (44°C).

I’m straying away from my normal “exercise-focused” post today to talk about my nutrition.  I think I’m stuck in a rut with my nutrition.  I usually eat about 2400 calories a day, which I think is about right for me but I’m not really sure whether my diet is properly proportioned between protein, carbohydrates, and fats.  I’m not trying to lose weight, just be healthy and stay fit.  My typical day consists of several small meals (more like snacks) during the day and then a slightly larger dinner.  I’ve tried to put together a typical day of eating for me.

7:00 AM 8oz 100% Cranberry Juice, no sugar added

8:00 AM Green tea, 1-2 hard boiled eggs

10:00 AM Rolled oats with 2 tbs flax meal and sometimes a mashed banana

12:00 Noon Salad for lunch (spinach, romaine, mixed greens, peas, cucumbers, tomatoes, grilled chicken, red pepper strips, black olives, feta, dried cranberries, and lite olive oil vinaigrette)

2:00 PM Part skim string cheese

3:30 PM Luna Bar

7:30 PM Dinner – usually some type of lean protein, vegetable, and a whole grain carb
Lately, I’ve also been adding smoothies (fruit, juice, and Greek yogurt) after my workout and before dinner or for breakfast instead of the eggs.  I don’t really plan out my meals for the day, though.  It’s nearly always a haphazard collection of whatever I happen to have at the time.  I feel like I might not be doing very well as far as maintaining a ratio of different food types, but I’m not really sure what I should be doing.  Does anyone have any good resources for nutrition? There was a section in The Woman Triathlete on nutrition that I need to re-read and see if it’s helpful.  Maybe I should devote some time to tracking what I eat as far as macronutrients go.  I’ve used The Daily Plate application for my iPhone to track calories, but it doesn’t do a great job of tracking other values.  I’d love to hear some suggestions if you’ve got them!

By the way, I’ve got only 7 days left before my next tri!

,

  1. #1 by specialkkluthe on April 27, 2009 - 11:23 pm

    I’m by no means an expert but I try to eat some protein with every meal/snack and to at least eat one meal without carbs (I am by nature a carbaholic…even if they are whole wheat ones!) I used to track on the Daily Plate too and I always shot for 50% carbs, 25% protein, and 25% fat. But for what it’s worth, your meals and snacks look good to me!

    I’ve just started eating Luna bars and they are really good…my fave so far is the S’mores kind. If you haven’t tried it, do so!

  2. #2 by parismtnstriding on November 11, 2009 - 1:12 pm

    This is going to sound funny but check out Jillian Micheals book “Mastering Your Metabolism”. It has a bunch of stuff on detoxing your life, but the useful part is guides to eating with balanced macronutrients. So instead of two eggs and tea you should eat two eggs and your oatmeal at the same time. She also agrees with specialkkluthe, limit carbs in your last meal of the day. Your smoothie should have protein in it and you could eat your string cheese with a piece of fruit. Sounds like your lunch salad is in good shape.

Leave a Reply

