Archive for April 21st, 2009

Easy does it?

The pool was surprisingly quiet tonight. There was actually an empty lane when I got there! I only had to share for about 200 yards in the middle of my work out.  I’ve been using the swim workouts from The Woman Triathlete, which I think I might have to ditch or heavily modify.  I don’t feel like they’re pushing me hard enough to really improve my swim.  Anyways, this was today’s workout:

Warm-up: 300yd swim, 300yd kick with fins, 300yd swim

Main set: 8 x 100yd swim @ T-pace plus 1-3 seconds on 15 seconds RI

Cool-down: 300yd swim with fins

The total was 2000 yards in 40 minutes.  I’m going to try and increase the yardage in my next couple of workouts.  I haven’t done a long swim in ages, so I think I may incorporate at least one continuous 1500yd swim before the tri next weekend.

After my swim, I did the optional run of about 2.6 miles on the treadmill followed by a walking cool-down.  I went really easy on the running because my legs, especially my hamstrings, are pretty sore after lifting yesterday.  I’m hoping to be able to get in an hour of riding tomorrow after weight training, but it’s going to depend on the weather.  If it rains like it’s supposed to, I’ll be stuck in the gym on the stationary bike.

Leave a comment