Fresh Legs and Fresh Air

The weather has been absolutely GORGEOUS yesterday and today.  I was itching to get outside and go for a run yesterday evening after work, and it was perfect.  Curtis and I ran about 6.6 miles (he actually did about 7.6mi), including our 1 mile warm-up and cool-down.  We did take a short break before our cool-down to do some light stretching, but otherwise, I ran the whole time without any breaks.  After my warm-up, I did 4 x 30 second accelerations with 1:30 rest interval.  My heart rate got up as high as 199, which seemed a quite bit higher than I felt it should have been.  My exertion seemed to much less, on the RPE scale, I’d say it was only about 12 to 15 at the most.  In all, it took 55 minutes to run the first 5.5 or so miles, so I’m happy with that.  Especially considering my rest intervals during my accels were VERY slow.  It was only supposed to be a 30 minute run yesterday, but since I was feeling so good and it was so nice outside, I took advantage of the opportunity to do a longer run.  I wasn’t sure if I was going to have time to get my workout in today (which I didn’t), so I knew I’d probably get a rest day before my brick this weekend, which I’m planning for tomorrow.  Hopefully this weather will keep up, I am LOVING training outside.  🙂

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

