Archive for April 16th, 2009

Three’s a crowd

It took me forever to get to the pool today after work.  Since I can’t go to my normal pool right now, and the other one is about 25-30 minutes away without traffic, I didn’t get to the pool deck till about 6:10PM.  And to my great surprise it was PACKED.  The pool has six lanes, four of which were open for lap swimming and two that are left open for recreational swimming.  In three out of the four lap swimming lanes there were three people sharing!  I don’t think I’ve ever seen either pool that busy before.  Also, someone was giving swimming lessons in one of the lap lanes while sharing it at the same time.  It was a zoo.

I typically avoid circle swimming because it’s hard to find people to swim at the same pace.  It’s usually easier to just share two to a lane and swim back and forth on the two sides.  I thought I got lucky when one of the swimmers motioned to me that he was done and I could have his place sharing with just one other person!  Then another guy appeared out of no where and jumped in where I was going to swim.  He swam over and said that he had been waiting for 30 minutes for a lane, which is fine, even though he hadn’t even been on the pool deck when I got there.  I told him I was in no rush, and he could go ahead.  After swimming two lengths, he must have felt guilty because he got out and told me to just take it and he would go run or something.  As it turns out, we both got to swim, because someone else finished at that moment giving both of us a lane.  Drama! Drama! Drama!

When I finally started my workout, I was surprised by how good I felt.  I did 3000 yards total, including my warm-up and cool-down.  It wasn’t the most exciting workout ever, but it kept me going, which was the goal.  For those interested, here it is:

Warm-up: 2 x (200 yards freestyle swim, 200 yards pull with pull buoy)

Main Set: 500 yards freestyle swim

200 yards pull with pull buoy

3 x 100 yards freestyle swim at T-pace

200 yards IM

Cool-down: 2 x (200 yards pull with pull buoy, 200 yards freestyle swim)

100 yards pull with pull buoy

100 yards freestyle swim

I got some wicked foot cramps in the second half of the workout, which was very out of the ordinary for me.  I used to get them all the time, but haven’t since I started training back in January.  Hopefully this was a one time thing.

I’m really glad that I didn’t not have to run today, I was right that I was going to be sore from all those lunges.  It’s not quite unbearable, but an extra day of rest before a running workout can’t hurt!  Tomorrow’s supposed to be sunny and 70°F, a beautiful day for an outdoor run!

, ,

3 Comments