Archive for April 15th, 2009

Rearranging

I was suppose to bike for an hour yesterday, but I didn’t.  It was raining and cold and I didn’t have any motivation to go to the gym.  Excuses, excuses!  I know, it’s terrible and I should have just sucked it up and done it, but it may actually work out in my favor.  I’ve mentioned before that my new training plan gives me Fridays off, but since I skipped yesterday, I’ll have to run on Friday.  Today, I biked on the stationary bike at the gym for 20 minutes before weight training, which is shorter than it should have been but a good hard ride nonetheless.  The plan said to swim today, but since the pool at gym is closed until May 22 it didn’t really make sense to go for training and then pack up and go to another gym to use the pool.  So, I just pushed all my workouts back a day to use up my Friday rest day.  Sorry if that is confusing/doesn’t make sense.  In short, I’m pushing all my workouts forward a day and taking rest on Tuesday (yesterday) instead of Friday.

Anyways, to the real stuff.  I rode 20 minutes today, starting and ending with a 5 minute warm-up and cool-down that were easy but at high cadence.  In the middle of the workout, I did 4x 90 seconds at zone 4/5a (HR: 172-180) with a rest interval of 60 seconds in between each effort.  I think I did quite well in raising my heart rate and keeping it up for the entire 90 second effort.  I wish I had been able to ride for the full hour, but with training I knew I wouldn’t have time.  I had dinner plans with friends tonight for one of their birthdays (woohoo tax day!).  I rode about 6 miles according to the stationary bike’s computer.

After getting my heart pumping with my short bike ride, I had weight training.  We started out on the mats as usual to do some core/ab exercises.  We used the stability ball to do some alternating crunches, holding the ball up in the air with our legs at a ninety degree angle.  Every few seconds, we would have to extend our legs a bit further.  Next were stability ball passes, pretty straightforward- just pass your ball from your hands to your legs and repeat keeping your legs as straight as possible.  Finally, we did a pilates bridge with elbows on the stability ball before moving on to hamstring exercises.  For our hamstrings, we placed one heel on the stability ball and held the other up in the air then lifted our hips off the ground.  We also did bicep curls, bench dips, seated row, lat pulldown, rotator cuff, knee-ups, shoulder press, and probably a few others that I can’t remember.  We also did a lot of lunges.  My rear is going to be sore tomorrow!  ‘

Leave a comment