Shoes!

I have a little secret.  I’ve never used a clipless pedal system on a bike, but I have been itching to learn.  A couple weekends ago, I bought cycling shoes, but didn’t get the pedals because the bike store didn’t have the ones that I wanted.  So, today I finally went back and purchased a brand new set of Speedplay pedals.  I also exchanged the shoes (which didn’t fit very well) for a pair of LG Triathlon shoes.  I’m ecstatic about them and I can’t wait to try them out on my bike.  I need to install the pedals, which hopefully I can do tomorrow or Saturday morning at the lake!  I’m going to take a spin around the course for the sprint tri while I’m there.  This is going to be a great Easter weekend!

After the bike shop, I had to take advantage of the BEAUTIFUL weather and take an easy ride on the nearby bike trail.  I did an easy one hour ride, and was amazed at how much more ground I covered today without having to constantly battle the wind.  I also took out my new heart rate monitor to play around with it.  I’m kind of annoyed with myself for not noticing this, but the HRM doesn’t have a feature to calculate average or max heart rate.  So for now, all it’s really good for is tracking in real time and alerting me if I’m outside of my set zone for the particular workout.  It’ll still be useful, but it’s not going to give me the quantitative data to record that I was anticipating.  For now, I’m going to stick with this one but I’ll probably upgrade in the future.

I doubt I’ll have Internet this weekend, so look for a long post on Monday with an update on my ride at the lake!

, , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

