Archive for April 8th, 2009

Buoyancy WOW!

What an exciting day for training!  I had a really good treadmill workout, followed by a good swim and a surprise when I got home.  First things first, I did a 45 minute run on the treadmill today and just over 4.5 miles.  Starting with a 10 minute warm-up at a 10-minute mile pace, I knew I was going to have a good day.  It’s hard to believe that when I started training this season in January I could barely run for 10 minutes at a time at a 4.5 mph pace!  I’ve made progress, and I’m hoping I only continue to get stronger and faster.  Anyways, continuing on with my run today, I did 4 sets of intervals alternating 3 minutes at an increased pace and 3 minutes rest at 10-minute mile pace.  The four faster intervals, I did at 6.5 mph, 6.7 mph, 7.0 mph, and 7.2 mph (about 8:20 minute mile pace).  I finished up with a cool down at decreasing speeds for the last 11 minutes.  After running I headed for the showers to rinse off before swimming.

Swimming was awesome.  I decided to try out my new wetsuit and see how it is in the water.  I put it on at the pool’s edge so that I wouldn’t overheat in the locker room.  It takes 5-10 minutes to get on, so I”m sure that I got more than my fair share of funny looks from other swimmers.  A guy got in at the other end of my lane and swam down to me to ask if I was going to swim in “that”.  I felt like saying that I was only putting it on for kicks and giggles, but thought better of it and just gave him the ok to swim in the lane with me.  I swam 50 yards (the pool I usually swim at is a 25 meter pool, but this one is only 25 yards) to get the feel of it and needed to do a little adjusting.  I swam a 300 yard freestyle warm-up, and whoa, was I ever warmed-up!  The wetsuit is definitely going to serve its purpose in keeping me warm during my tri’s.  I made a few more adjustments so the arms would be a little less snug in the shoulder after the 300 before continuing with my workout.  I did two more 3o0 yard sets to warm-up and then got to the main set of 10×50 yard sprints.  WOW!  The extra buoyancy from the wetsuit made me feel like I was flying through the water.  I’m pretty sure it increased my speed by keeping my body more streamlined.  The only downside was that it does wear on the arms a bit more than swimming without.  I definitely felt like I got a good strength workout on my arms just from wearing it.  I suppose that could be partially attributed to positioning?  I’ll have to do some more experimenting.  Anyways, I finished up with another 300 yard freestyle to cool-down.

I almost forgot to mention that I bought some Luna bars today at the grocery store and I tried the “Toasted Nuts ‘n Cranberry” as my pre-workout snack.  I liked the taste quite a lot, and I had plenty of energy for my workout.  So, it’s an A in my book for now.  I was inspired to buy them after reading about them on Susan‘s blog.  I didn’t realize that they are made by Clif!

I’m sure you’ve all been waiting to hear what my surprise was…my heart rate monitor came!  I’m so excited!  Sorry, I know that probably wasn’t as great as expected, but I can’t wait to start training with it.  I’m spending the rest of the evening figuring out how to work it.  🙂

, , , , , , ,

2 Comments