Wind blown

A little wind never hurt anyone, right?  But it makes for a tough workout!  Curtis and I decided to take the bikes out for a ride today on the bike trail near my house.  I bundled up because I thought the wind was going to be brutal.  It turns out, working harder to get through the wind kept me warm enough.   Curtis did a quick out and back 1 hour ride, but I stayed out for 1:30 so I could do some intervals.  I started out (into the wind) with a 20 minute warm-up at zones 1/2.  The intervals were supposed to be 3x 10 minutes building to zones 4/5 with 10 minute rest intervals.  After the first interval, I stopped for a quick break to take off the fingered gloves I was wearing over my cycling gloves and to try a raspberry Hammer gel.  Not sure how I feel about the gel consistency.  I’ll have to play around with it a bit more to see if it’ll work for me during longer rides and in races.

I rode with the wind on the second two intervals, which was really fun and really fast!  Although, that meant that I had to overshoot my starting point because I got back a lot faster than it took me to ride out.  I ended with a 10-15 minute cool-down.  All in all, it was a great bike ride.  Having to work the wind (which I found out later was a respectable 21 mph), gave me a great intensity on the first interval effort.  I also got to work some small hills.  The total mileage was just over 20 miles.

, , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

