Trail Running

The weather was absolutely perfect for a trail run tonight.  It was just about 60 degrees before the sun started setting, so probably around 55 by the time we finished, which was a perfect mix of “not too hot, not too cold”.  The park was pretty empty, and other than a few people fishing in the pond and a lady walking her dog, we only had to share the trails with a few deer.  We did a 30 minute run on very soft dirt trails at about a 10 minute mile pace, so probably did a little under 3 miles total.  I didn’t get in any speed work but we had some pretty nice little hills to mix it up a bit.  I’m so used to running on either a treadmill or a flat asphalt bike path that this was a welcome change and a bit more of a challenge than I expected.  I really need to find some place with some steeper inclines to prep for the May race, which is in the mountains and very hilly.  All in all, the run tonight was a nice Zone 1/2 run for me to ease into the week after my race on Sunday.  It’s supposed to rain tomorrow, so it looks like I might do some swimming after TNT tomorrow.  Although, I heard a rumor in the locker room yesterday that the pool might be closed this week.  If that’s the case, I’m going to do a bike workout instead on one of the stationary bikes.

On a side note, I bought a heart rate monitor today!  It should get here in about a week, so look out for future posts to incorporate it into my running and biking workouts.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

