The Great Larabar Experiment

I’ve been feeling a little bleh yesterday and today, so I decided to make today a rest day.  I picked out an On Demand yoga program to do as my active rest.  It was ok, but not really what I was looking for, there was a lot of pilates-type moves for core strength.  I wanted some more stretching type moves to do, but oh well.  It only took 20 minutes, which was nice.  I don’t think I’d do it again, though.

After I was done, I decided to attempt to make some homemade Larabars.  I even took pictures to post!

First, I took an entire (well actually a little less because I’d already eaten several) 10 oz container of Sunsweet pitted dates and checked them to make sure they were actually pitted.  Once I had removed the one stray pit I found, I microwaved the dates for about 30 seconds since I thought it would be easier to work with them if they were slightly heated.

IMG_1351

I dumped the whole container of dates into the food processor and turned it on.

IMG_1353

It didn’t take long for it to become a paste-like consistency.

IMG_1354

I added 1/2 cup of almonds (1/4 cup at a time).

IMG_1355

And 1/8 cup of cocoa powder.  The food processor turned it into a very sticky ball of dough.

IMG_1356

I spread it into a small baking dish and put it into the refrigerator to harden.  After an hour or so I moved it to the freezer to be faster.

IMG_1357

After they were sufficiently hard, I cut them up into 16 squares to store.

IMG_1358

This one only made it as far as my mouth! :) It was tasty!

IMG_1360

Here’s the nutritional info:

Serving size -2 squares (1/8 of whole)

Calories – 148

Fat – 4 grams (rounded up)

Carbohydrates – 30 grams

Protein – 2.5 grams

I think that next time I’ll add a bit of chocolate protein powder, but I’m pretty pleased for my first attempt.  I’m excited about getting some more dates and trying some different combinations of flavors.  The pecan pie Larabars are especially interesting to me.  Yum, I’m salivating just thinking about it!

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Susan on August 28, 2009 - 10:50 am

    Oooh! I love it! Good call on putting the dates in the microwave first. I’ve tried to blend dates before and they were a little too hard. Defintely going to try a version of this as soon as I get my food processor, thanks Kristin! :)

  2. #2 by Swim Coach Finder on September 2, 2009 - 12:11 am

    Nice job! Those should power you up! I may have to try that receipe.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 480 other followers

